• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC Profile Won't Load on P8P67 Pro

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DaveGores

Hello everyone. I'm new to the overclocking scene and just completed a new build last night with the following components:

• i5 2500k
  • Asus P8P67 Pro
  • 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance
  • GTX 580
  • Corsair HX850w
  • Corsair h100

I tried following several tutorials on overclocking with this board with this processor to 4.5ghz, but every time I save the profile and reboot I end up opening CPU-Z to find that the core speed is still 3.3ghz. I've been at this for hours and can't figure out why the profile I created won't load. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Saving an overclocking profile using ASUS O.C Profile, and hitting F10 to Save are two different things. The O.C Profile feature lets you switch between different saved BIOS profiles, for example an everyday profile and a benchmarking profile. Hitting F10 to Save actually saves the current BIOS settings to CMOS.

I actually did both. I saved the profile to the first slot, then set the bios to boot on that first profile, and then pressed F10. How to I boot from that profile?

Anyone else have any ideas? Is updating the bios a possible fix for this issue?

Just disregard profiles altogether for the time being, and just hit F10 to save after making any changes. If the BIOS is reverting your 4.5GHz settings to default (the current clock can be seen on the POST screen), then one or more settings are set incorrectly. Also post the exact model of RAM installed, including the DRAM frequency, timings, and voltage at 4.5GHz. You can use this template for the P8P67 to post all of the settings you last tried for a 4.5GHz clock...
Code:
Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
BCLK/PEG Freq: 100.0
Turbo Ratio: By Per Core - All cores set to "46"