• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Pump Selection Advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

supersniper111

Hey guys,

I am trying to figure out the right size pump for my build:

Core i7-2600k @4.0 (to be higher later) w/ EK Supreme HF
GTX 570 SLI setup w/ 2 EK 570 1.1 blocks and parallel flow adapter
Black Ice GTX 360 radiator (mounted on back)
Black Ice GTX 120 radiator (mounted on top fan spot)
EK Dual bay plexi rad
1/2" ID w/ 3/4" OD tubing

Path is as follows: Pump -> CPU -> 120 rad -> GPUs -> 360 rad -> reservoir

I tried with the Swiftech MCP655 and it seemed quite underpowered. I tried going through all the parts w/ the pump manually to check for blockages, but didn't come up with anything.

Suggestions? I am a complete beginner with all of this so if you have any advice, please share! :)

Thanks in advance!

K, ya lost me a little bit...you have the parts installed?, or are you using an online calculator of some sort?

As for pumps, though it is smaller in size, the MCP-35x beats a 655 so I'm told.

:welcome: to the forums!

Yeah, I have the parts installed (was doing a leak test), as I thought the Swiftech MCP655 was enough.

Gotcha. It should be good enough. I'd finish the leaktesting after making sure the air is bled from the system, and judge by temps.
That top radiator is gonna be the hardest to get all the air out of it, that really can slow down the water. If the res is sealed and won't leak, I'd tip the system forward and back to make sure it's clear.

I'm not getting any flow back to the reservoir, so there's something out of whack, maybe an air bubble in one of the radiators or whatnot.

No flow or weak flow?
No flow would mean you're running your pump (and it's warranty) dry!, or you've got a hose that's kinked shut.