Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

How much RAM does your primary computer have installed? [>2012]

View Poll Results: How much RAM does your primary computer have installed?
< 1 gig 3 0.56%
1 - 2.9 gigs 6 1.12%
3 - 4.9 gigs 71 13.27%
5 - 6.9 gigs 32 5.98%
7 - 8.9 gigs 220 41.12%
9 - 12.9 gigs 38 7.10%
13 - 16.9 gigs 129 24.11%
17 - 24.9 gigs 11 2.06%
25 - 32.9 gigs 19 3.55%
>= 33 gigs - Please post amount. 6 1.12%
Voters: 535. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Closed
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-12, 03:48 AM Thread Starter   #1
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

10 Year Badge
 
How much RAM does your primary computer have installed? [>2012]


The poll focus is on your primary computer. That you own.

New poll here: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=724245

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








Last edited by thideras; 01-03-13 at 11:25 PM.
Enablingwolf is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 05:27 AM   #2
Xubx
New Member

 
Xubx's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Irvine, CA

 
Currently 16gbs
Xubx is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 05:31 AM   #3
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
8 GBs in the laptop, which I reckon will end up being the average.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 05:47 AM   #4
Mario1
Grammer, its my favoriate thing


 
Mario1's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pleven, Bulgaria

 
10GB in my PC, used to have 1GB in my old PC so I've decided to install 10 in the new one.
No more lag due to insufficient RAM

__________________
Dis is mai Pee-Cee;
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-D3 (rev 1.x)
CPU: Phenom II X4 850 (stock clocks, undervolted @ 1,3v)
CPU Cooler; Box AM2 cooler
RAM: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance & 1x2GB Corsair XMS3 @ 804mhz 9-9-9-24 1T CR
Graphics card: HD3650 1GB DDR2 (400/400, runs at x4 for some weird reason)
HDD: WesternDigital Caviar Black 1TB, SATA III, 64MB Cache
PSU:Corsair CX430
Case: CoolerMaster Elite 430 (3x 120mm Thermaltake intake fans; 1 front, 1 side, 1 bot. 3x 120mm Thermaltake exhaust fans; 2 top, 1 back)
Mario1 is offline Benching Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 06:39 AM   #5
Mpegger
Member

 
Mpegger's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC

10 Year Badge
 
24GiB on my main.

Btw, when referring to system ram, its GiB, not GB.

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 / ASRock Z97 Extreme4 / i7 4790K @ 4.6 / 32GiB / 780Ti
ESXi server / i7-3770s / 16GiB / 16TB ZFS-z2

-----------------------------
[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

"One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

(Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
Heatware
Mpegger is offline Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 07:10 AM Thread Starter   #6
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
8 GBs in the laptop, which I reckon will end up being the average.
With low cost and good overclocking 4gig modules available. I would agree, 8 gigs could be the average.

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus







Enablingwolf is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 08:02 AM   #7
Tweaked!
Xtreme refugee

 
Tweaked!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh.

 
8gig in my primary and my wife's rig, and 4gig in my backroom server.

__________________
E8400@3.4 w/ Apogee w/c
Asus P5B Deluxe
8gb pc2-6400 @ 475mhz 1:1 5,5,5,15
Asus GTX570 DCII
PC P&C 610w Silencer
2 WD sata 3.0 raid array 0



My Heat
Tweaked! is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 08:08 AM   #8
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
8GB for normal use and a 4GB set for benching
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 09:30 AM   #9
freeagent

Member

 
freeagent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Winnipeg!

 
Im running 6 right now.. Id run 12 if I could find another set that could run at 6-6-6-20

__________________
Xeon X5690 E.S. @ 4307MHz 1.375v/Corsair H100
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 179/3230/3589
3x2GB STT Chrome @ 897MHz 7-7-7-21 1T 1.65v
Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1000 1.1v
Intel 520 120GB/WD 1TB Black
Auzentech Prelude
Thermaltake SP850M
Fractal Design Define R4
freeagent is online now Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 10:20 AM   #10
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
Eight here too.

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint © audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 10:54 AM   #11
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
my poor laptop on has 1gb .. the toughest thing i throw at it though is visual basic 2010 .. guess im old school it still "feels" fast enough ..not that fast ...but fast enough .. lol

__________________


Xtreme Barton is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 11:01 AM   #12
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
My old computer only had 2GB, and 8GB is cheap and more than enough for me, so my new rig has 8.

__________________
......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
.FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
.PNY Optima 1600MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
.................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
GS600 PSU CX500
Aldakoopa is online now Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 12:09 PM   #13
trekky
Member

 
trekky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MI

 
i have 16gb because why not?

p.s. 8gb used to be over kill now its the normal amount

__________________
current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

"Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras
trekky is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 12:46 PM   #14
SChema
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2012

 
I'm currently running 16GB, bought more upfront instead of messing with it later on down the road.

__________________
i7-2600K - 4.5Ghz @ 1.312 volts | ASUS P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | Corsair TX750 V2 | Antec 1200
SChema is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 12:59 PM   #15
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
16GB... Got a kit as a prize on a competition at another board so I figured I'd put it to good use and save my expensive ram for benching.

__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 01:22 PM   #16
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Grabbed a set of Sandy Britches specific ram when I moved my system from AMD to intel and figured, why not grab 8GB? I do love my 3x2GB set of Hypers though. I use 4GB of that set in my AMD rig.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 01:39 PM   #17
kratzaus
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2011

 
RAM is ridiculously cheap these days. For me 8GB which is plenty.
kratzaus is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 01:45 PM   #18
capttripppp
Member


 
capttripppp's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska

 
Pretty much all of my sets are 2x2gb to use benching. I might just pick up a set of 2x4gb just check it out because the prices are sooooo low

__________________
"I just picked up some Vaseline and a big syringe. I'm thinking using the syringe will make it easier to put the Vaseline in all the little hard to reach spots. I'm hoping to get to mess with it tonight, if so I'll post some videos" Convicted1
capttripppp is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 01-28-12, 02:15 PM   #19
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
8GB on my desktop, 4GB on my laptop. Both seem to handle what they're being used for very well. I don't do any gaming on the laptop, so 4GB is working very well, and 8GB on the desktop seems to be plenty for any game i throw at it.

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline  
Old 01-28-12, 02:28 PM   #20
txus.palacios
Premium Member #18

 
txus.palacios's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cádiz (Spain)

 
16GiB.

Was so cheap I couldn't help but grab a 4x4 kit.

__________________
Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
[ more info... ]


The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras
txus.palacios is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile  
Thanks!
Mpegger (01-29-12)

Thread Closed


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?