Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Is Sparkle 400W good enough for ASUS M5A88-V + FX-4100 + G.Skill DDR3 1600Mhz?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-12, 11:40 PM Thread Starter   #21
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
so you're saying that the six core will provide no noticeable difference compared to the quad core?

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-12, 11:46 PM   #22
raident30

 
raident30's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Pinas, Philippines

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth3si View Post
so you're saying that the six core will provide no noticeable difference compared to the quad core?
depends if the application uses more than its 4 cores... as of now, there are only a few applications that uses more than 4 cores some of those are games like BF3

__________________
Main Rig : i5 2500k 4.3 @1.27 | Water 2.0 Performer | 7950 3gb flashed | G.Skill Ripjaws 4x2 1600 | Coolermaster GX650w Bronze | asus p8z68-M PRO | NZXT Source 210
Folding Rig : Phenom II x4 840 3.6 @1.35 | stock cooling | 9500 GT ddr2| kingston 4gb 1333 | FSP Supersonic 500w | MSI GF615M-P33 v1.3
raident30 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 03:05 AM Thread Starter   #23
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
than 1035t is useless to me!!

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 04:37 AM   #24
raident30

 
raident30's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Pinas, Philippines

 
read/watch some review first before you jump on buying... it might help you understand it better...

__________________
Main Rig : i5 2500k 4.3 @1.27 | Water 2.0 Performer | 7950 3gb flashed | G.Skill Ripjaws 4x2 1600 | Coolermaster GX650w Bronze | asus p8z68-M PRO | NZXT Source 210
Folding Rig : Phenom II x4 840 3.6 @1.35 | stock cooling | 9500 GT ddr2| kingston 4gb 1333 | FSP Supersonic 500w | MSI GF615M-P33 v1.3
raident30 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 09:23 AM   #25
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Video encoding/rendering, photoshop, and other content creation apps that deal with movies and images will use all the cores you can throw at them. If you're just using multiple programs simultaneously or editing relatively small (less then 1GB) images in Paint.NET, I don't think you'll use all six cores.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 09:24 AM   #26
raident30

 
raident30's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Pinas, Philippines

 
^ this

__________________
Main Rig : i5 2500k 4.3 @1.27 | Water 2.0 Performer | 7950 3gb flashed | G.Skill Ripjaws 4x2 1600 | Coolermaster GX650w Bronze | asus p8z68-M PRO | NZXT Source 210
Folding Rig : Phenom II x4 840 3.6 @1.35 | stock cooling | 9500 GT ddr2| kingston 4gb 1333 | FSP Supersonic 500w | MSI GF615M-P33 v1.3
raident30 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 04:50 PM Thread Starter   #27
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by johan851 View Post
Video encoding/rendering, photoshop, and other content creation apps that deal with movies and images will use all the cores you can throw at them. If you're just using multiple programs simultaneously or editing relatively small (less then 1GB) images in Paint.NET, I don't think you'll use all six cores.
there is one paint.net file ... 1.98MB about 50 layers.. takes about 30 seconds to fully load...

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 05:03 PM   #28
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
What's the processor utilization during load?

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 08:33 PM Thread Starter   #29
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
it's 85% loading..95% maximum ..falls off to 50%...then back to normal

why is this normal?

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-12, 09:44 PM   #30
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
I'm just trying to figure out if the process is single threaded or multi-threaded, or maybe bottlenecked by something else. Sounds like it's multi-threaded. So it might benefit from more cores, but I still don't think it would be a huge difference.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-12, 12:27 AM Thread Starter   #31
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
i might get the 960t it's faster clock....but if extra core can be unlocked it'd be great...

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-10-12, 04:20 PM Thread Starter   #32
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
If I were try to be safe and get a new PSU that is abundantly enough for a unlocked and overclocked Phenom II X4 960T, then how many watts would I be looking for and what brand?

Is Antec good nowadays?

Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Add would this be overkill or should I wait for a cheaper deal and buy one with less watts?

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-10-12, 05:01 PM   #33
Whitefang
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
I don't know if Antec is good or not, but I do know a lot of people like Corsair. I'd think that if you were just using an onboard GPU setup with some normal RAM and stuff, 400W would be enough. That said, you can always pick up a 500W Corsair PSU for $60.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139027

They sell a 430W PSU as well.
Whitefang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-10-12, 06:12 PM   #34
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Antec's new stuff is good.
Whether that PSU is enough or more than enough depends on what GPU(s) you have.
Any single GPU and that CPU will be perfectly happy on that unit.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-10-12, 08:06 PM   #35
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
My experience has been that a 4 core is more than fast enough for general computing, running multiple things at once, just so long as you're running Windows 7 or a Linux distro. XP just sucks when it comes to multithreading.

I love my 6 core though.... I've one of those widgets showing me all 6 cores..... I just like seeing them. In reality though the only time they get used is when I do DVD rips or convert video's. I'm yet to come across a game where it needs more than my old 955BE, though I'm very happy with my new chip. Only cost me $60

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-12, 07:16 AM Thread Starter   #36
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
Well I'm going to use onboard video but I might buy it anyway to be on the safe side and in case I get a dedicated GPU. Not sure though.

If I do get a new PSU, should I get an 80mm external fan for the PSU as well? While I don't need it, during summer season I would like to exhaust hot air from the PSU that comes from the 120mm fan pushing air into it. I've already done that with my current PSU by cutting an 80mm hole from the rear grill. I wonder if I should do the same to the new one in order to produce even better airflow.

Any thoughts?

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-12, 02:19 PM   #37
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth3si View Post
If I do get a new PSU, should I get an 80mm external fan for the PSU as well? While I don't need it, during summer season I would like to exhaust hot air from the PSU that comes from the 120mm fan pushing air into it. I've already done that with my current PSU by cutting an 80mm hole from the rear grill. I wonder if I should do the same to the new one in order to produce even better airflow.

Any thoughts?
There's no need. The 120mm fan will create positive pressure, and since the rear grill is low restriction it will vent all the air that goes in. I wouldn't bother - it's designed to work properly with the 120mm fan and that should do a good job.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-12, 03:46 PM   #38
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
^^ Like he said

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-12, 02:31 AM Thread Starter   #39
Stealth3si
Member

 
Stealth3si's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by johan851 View Post
Video encoding/rendering, photoshop, and other content creation apps that deal with movies and images will use all the cores you can throw at them. If you're just using multiple programs simultaneously or editing relatively small (less then 1GB) images in Paint.NET, I don't think you'll use all six cores.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johan851 View Post
I'm just trying to figure out if the process is single threaded or multi-threaded, or maybe bottlenecked by something else. Sounds like it's multi-threaded. So it might benefit from more cores, but I still don't think it would be a huge difference.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjw21a View Post
My experience has been that a 4 core is more than fast enough for general computing, running multiple things at once, just so long as you're running Windows 7 or a Linux distro. XP just sucks when it comes to multithreading.

I love my 6 core though.... I've one of those widgets showing me all 6 cores..... I just like seeing them. In reality though the only time they get used is when I do DVD rips or convert video's. I'm yet to come across a game where it needs more than my old 955BE, though I'm very happy with my new chip. Only cost me $60
after finally putting together my new machine, not trying to rub it in your faces, but if anyone out there who is in similar situation like mine, then I would recommend upgrading like i did.

my old 3-core system took 35 sec to open a file and 96 sec to save it!

now my new 6-core system took 10 sec to open the same file and 29 sec to save it!!1!!

notice the differences are about 3 times faster and all cpu meter shows all 6 cores being fully utilized!

that and the upgrade to SATA III and bigger better ram prolly made verything else noticeably faster, esp loading and switcfhing between multiples browsers with 10-20 tabs each...

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech Wireless K800 & Logitech Wireless G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
Stealth3si is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?