• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build Choices

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Strider2552

Hey guys so I'm thinking about building a new PC and I have no idea what is good for the price and whatnot. It's not my first time building a PC, but it is my first time overclocking anything. The processor I want to get is the 2600K, but after that I don't really know what to get. Sorry this is going to be like multiple questions lol but I figured you guys would know what's best.

What motherboard would be good for overclocking? I was looking at the Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z but I was just curious if there were other motherboards that are similarly good but are cheaper, like the Asrock professional Gen3. I plan on using it for mostly gaming, so I figured overclocking it to 4.5 would be good? I've heard that the Maximus is one of the best, but it also might be overkill for just gaming and a 4.5.

Also, if I'm going to overclock it to ~4.5, what would be a good cooler? I know the Noctua is one of the best, but would it be more cost efficient to go with the Cooler Master 212? The case I'll be using is the CM Storm Trooper.

One last question, if I plan on using two 570's at some point in the future, would it be better for me to have a 1000w PSU or would a 750 be sufficient?

Thanks!

I would recommend the i7 2600k or the i5 2500k; both are easily overclockable to 4.5GHZ. The i7 is $100 more than the i5 but the i7 is faster. AMD has nothing going on right now and don't seem to be doing any high end stuff in the future so I would stay away from that sinking ship.
I don't know a lot about mobos I have a P8P67 pro and I love the new ASUS interface. It has the chipset for the 1155 overclocking and 3 PCI-e slots. It is crossfire compatible. And it works great for me.