Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Random shutoff? Need help.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-12, 01:16 PM Thread Starter   #1
DR DEUCE
Member

 
DR DEUCE's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami

 
Random shutoff? Need help.


Hey guys. I am having some trouble recently. I will be using my comp and it will randomly reboot. This happens at any time, not just if I'm stressing my system. I have done stability tests and everything seems fine. Could it be the psu? What can it be?

__________________
i5 2500k | EVGA GTX 580
Asus P67 Sabertooth | GSkill 4GB 1600 CL7
Vertex 3 60GB
Corsair 650TX | Corsair SE 600T
DR DEUCE is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 05:23 PM   #2
FX4
Member

 
FX4's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
I'm a little out of it these days but Intel used to have a panic code that basically said three errors in a row to panic and reboot. I forget what the command was called. My guess is they still have something like that embedded in the processors. Are you overclocked?

__________________
i7 2600
Nvidia GTX 560ti
Cosair 600 watt Gamer PSU
Intel DZ68BC MB
16 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866
2 TB WD Black Caviar HD
Intel 311 20 Gig SSD cache
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Dual Samsung S23A350H monitors
Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard
Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
FX4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 08:16 PM Thread Starter   #3
DR DEUCE
Member

 
DR DEUCE's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami

 
Yes, but it is stable.

__________________
i5 2500k | EVGA GTX 580
Asus P67 Sabertooth | GSkill 4GB 1600 CL7
Vertex 3 60GB
Corsair 650TX | Corsair SE 600T
DR DEUCE is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 08:23 PM   #4
FX4
Member

 
FX4's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
Well if it's panic rebooting it's not stable. Funny I hear that a lot around here. I'm overclocked and its stable but I'm having x problem. Take the overclock out and see if the problem stops.

__________________
i7 2600
Nvidia GTX 560ti
Cosair 600 watt Gamer PSU
Intel DZ68BC MB
16 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866
2 TB WD Black Caviar HD
Intel 311 20 Gig SSD cache
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Dual Samsung S23A350H monitors
Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard
Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
FX4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 08:34 PM Thread Starter   #5
DR DEUCE
Member

 
DR DEUCE's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami

 
Stable.
Attached Images
 

__________________
i5 2500k | EVGA GTX 580
Asus P67 Sabertooth | GSkill 4GB 1600 CL7
Vertex 3 60GB
Corsair 650TX | Corsair SE 600T
DR DEUCE is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 08:41 PM   #6
FX4
Member

 
FX4's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
Not relevant. All stress testing does is run a set of vectors, the vectors may run fine and you have created noise at some other point in the system. It may be running a particular set of instructions fine and another set maybe not even under high load causes it to fall on its face. It's why some people can run Prime95 for 24 hours straight and then the system bombs playing a game or some other stress test. You could be putting noise on a bus that is only present under certain load conditions...a test is just a test, it does not mean you are problem free.

__________________
i7 2600
Nvidia GTX 560ti
Cosair 600 watt Gamer PSU
Intel DZ68BC MB
16 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866
2 TB WD Black Caviar HD
Intel 311 20 Gig SSD cache
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Dual Samsung S23A350H monitors
Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard
Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
FX4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 08:55 PM   #7
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR DEUCE View Post
Hey guys. I am having some trouble recently. I will be using my comp and it will randomly reboot. This happens at any time, not just if I'm stressing my system. I have done stability tests and everything seems fine. Could it be the psu? What can it be?
Doc,

Any messages in Event Viewer?

Can you use a DMM and check your molex 12V voltages in your power supply at idle and under stress? (A bad power supply won't leave an Event Viewer message).

Any funny looking capacitors on your motherboard? Everything seated firmly?

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 09:08 PM Thread Starter   #8
DR DEUCE
Member

 
DR DEUCE's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami

 
I think i might have figured it out. There was a pin in my atx cable that seemed loose due to sleeving. Set it back in place and haven't rebooted. Thanks RT and fx4.

__________________
i5 2500k | EVGA GTX 580
Asus P67 Sabertooth | GSkill 4GB 1600 CL7
Vertex 3 60GB
Corsair 650TX | Corsair SE 600T
DR DEUCE is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-12, 09:16 PM   #9
FX4
Member

 
FX4's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
Cool, glad it wasn't your OC.

__________________
i7 2600
Nvidia GTX 560ti
Cosair 600 watt Gamer PSU
Intel DZ68BC MB
16 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866
2 TB WD Black Caviar HD
Intel 311 20 Gig SSD cache
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
Dual Samsung S23A350H monitors
Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard
Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
FX4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?