Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Overclocking FX-6100 - Games runs too fast?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-12, 08:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
t3kr0
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Overclocking FX-6100 - Games runs too fast?


Hello,

recently I began to overclock my FX-6100 3.3 Ghz. I can manage to get it as high as 4,3 Ghz with the stock cooler fan. But the problem is that my games, particulary skyrim, runs too fast. And by that I mean that the game itself is going as much as double the speed, whilst the sound is at the normal tempo. The funny thing is that if I go down to 3,6 Ghz it will run normally.

What is the cause of this?

::Speccs::
CPU:
AMD FX-6100 3.3ghz running at 4275 Mhz.
Core multiplier 19x
HT multiplier 12x
HT ref. clock 225 Mhz
PCIe Speed 100
Voltage 1.5250

Memory:
Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz 16Gb clocked to 1800Mhz.

XFX Radeon HD 6870 running at stock.

and a 500 Watt PSU.
t3kr0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-12, 08:54 PM   #2
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
Is your BIOS updated to the latest version?

__________________
CPU: FX-4100 (4.2GHz, 1.25V daily --- 4.83GHz, 1.5V max stable so far...)
COOLER: Hyper 212+
MOBO: Asus M5A88-V Evo
RAM: 8GB (4GBx2) PNY Optima DDR3 (1400MHz)
GPU: XFX Radeon HD 7850 (1050MHz core, 1200MHz mem)
PSU: 600W Corsair GS600
SSHD: 500GB Seagate Solid State Hybrid 5400 rpm
HDD: 500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm
SSD: 128GB Samsung 830
Case: Antec 300 Illusion
OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium... (OEM?)
Aldakoopa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-12, 09:12 PM Thread Starter   #3
t3kr0
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Yes, my bios is updated. I run a Gigabyte 970A-UD3.
t3kr0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-12, 09:51 PM   #4
Hicksimus
Member



Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada

 
You aren't the first person to have this issue, the only solution I have seen work is a different video driver but even then that doesn't work for everybody.

Have a look here.

I'd suggest that you take this next bit seriously. You are over clocking that chip and using that graphics card and have a 500 watt power supply. You are going to be incredibly close to having a lot of weird issues and/or a really nasty power supply failure. My last $130 550 Watt PSU with a 40 amp 12V rail allowed my computer to start and run most of the time but I was having so many odd issues, then I realized that the over clocked bulldozer draws a silly amount of power(twice as much as a similarly over clocked i5 2500k for example). My graphics card also draws less power than yours.

Last edited by Hicksimus; 03-02-12 at 09:59 PM.
Hicksimus is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-12, 05:03 PM   #5
mati6808
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Try to open up a command window and type in this:

bcdedit /set useplatformclock true

It worked for me when I had similar problem.
mati6808 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-12, 05:44 PM   #6
MKDpc
Registered

 
MKDpc's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona

 
wow thats so pretty hardcore overclocking you've done there! Try to make sure that all your Skyrim updates are installed and all your hardware drivers are up to date also. But thats all ive got for you right now.
MKDpc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-12, 11:17 PM   #7
thirnick
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
i have the same mobo and cpu
try underclocking your mem
set HT freq close to 2000

Last edited by thirnick; 03-23-12 at 02:14 PM.
thirnick is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-12, 11:35 AM   #8
Theocnoob
Disabled



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
I just want to say that you shouldn't be using the stock cooler if you're overclocking as much as 1Ghz. Especially on a cpu that can cook eggs.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?