Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Crosshair Formula IV + FX-4170

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-12, 05:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
MediaJunky
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2010

 
Crosshair Formula IV + FX-4170


Hey guys, the rig I'm currently working with is;

Asus Crosshair Formula IV
AMD FX-4170
Corsair H70
8GB OCZ Reaper HPC 1600 @ 1.9v (4x2GB)
MSI HD5970
Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Cooler Master HAF X

First things first, the motherboard is using a beta BIOS (v3027) in order to support the bulldozer CPU. With this beta there are a number of options missing from the BIOS.

From the manual;

3.3.10 CPU & NB Voltage Mode [Offset]
Allows you to set the CPU & CPU/NB Voltage Mode. Different sub-items appear according to the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item setting. Configuration options: [Offset] [Manual]

CPU Offset Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.CPU/NB Offset Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU/NB Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.

CPU Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
[Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU voltage.

CPU/NB Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
[Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU/NB voltage.


Currently the "CPU & NB Voltage Mode" option is missing, which in turn means the CPU and CPU/NB Voltage options are missing, thus means the only way I can set CPU voltage is via the "CPU Offset Voltage" which I'll be honest, I don't fully understand.

I have disabled cool and quiet, turbo core, ai tweaker, etc and set everything to manual.

With the following settings I've achieved a stable 4.8GHz;

CPU Multiplier: 24
HT: 2600
CPU/NB: 2600
CPU Offset Voltage: 0.100000
NB Voltage: 1.175
HT Voltage: 1.275

Prime95 runs for a couple of hours without any dropped workers and gaming seems perfectly stable but I have a few oddities;

1) The machine boots at 1.5v VCORE, but then drops to 1.488v according to HWMonitor and CPU-Z. When stress testing it increases to 1.52 which brings the full load temps up to around 56C, I don't seem to be able to fix the voltage.
2) When trying to run 5GHz (25x200) it seems the above fluctuations cause the Prime95 worker processors to fail or the machine to blue screen.
3) Despite the NB voltage being set at 1.175 the board appears to allow it to run up to 1.25 according to its own voltage monitor and also HWMonitor.

I would love to hear if anyone else has this motherboard with a Bulldozer CPU or any advice on how to proceed from here.

Thanks

__________________
RIG #1 - Asus Sabertooth R2.0 || AMD FX8350 Black Edition || Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme ||GSkill F3-2400C10-8GTX 2400MHz (2x8GB) || Corsair Force 3 120GB || Gigabyte GTX680 || Antec HCG-620 PSU || Coolermaster HAF 922 Case || Windows 8.1 Pro

RIG #2 - Asus Crosshair IV Extreme || AMD Phenom II 1100T Black Edition || Corsair H70 CPU Cooler ||OCZ DDR3 2000Mhz Dual Channel RAM (2x4GB) || OCZ Vertex 2 160GB SSD || XFX HD5970 4GB || Coolermaster 1000W PSU || Coolermaster HAF-X Case || Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)
MediaJunky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-12, 09:58 PM   #2
{PGA}AfterShock
Member

 
{PGA}AfterShock's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1

 
same mobo with same bios but diff cpu though the methods are all the same. since your chip will run at 1.488v you want that as your target voltage so in your bios next to the cpu offset it should show your cpu voltage. you want to use the + or - depending on if your higher or lower than your target voltage so if your cpu voltage shows 1.5 you would change the mode to - and raise the amount of offset a little bit then save and reboot then go back into the bios to see where your at and adjust as needed, also make sure you have LLC enabled for both cpu and cpu/nb this will prevent the voltage from dropping below your target level and LLC will provide a slight voltage boost under heavy loads so in prime you should be somewhere around 1.5v but shouldn't have the huge fluctuations that you have now.

I have to say for whatever reason they decided to use offsets instead of keying numbers in directly it was a stupid decision and very unnecessary since it changes nothing in terms of the end result.

__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.4ghz 1.368v
cpu/nb freg 2400mhz 1.20v
HT Freq 2600mhz 1.2v
Corsair H100 <Res Mod>
Asus Sabertooth 990fx
2x4 GB G-Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 7-8-7-24-34 1T 1.6v

EVGA GTX 770 SC 4GB
256GB Samsung 840 Pro
468gig SAMSUNG HD400LJ
NXXT Switch 810
Corsair GS800 PSU
{PGA}AfterShock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-12, 07:30 AM   #3
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaJunky View Post
Hey guys, the rig I'm currently working with is;

Asus Crosshair Formula IV
AMD FX-4170
Corsair H70
8GB OCZ Reaper HPC 1600 @ 1.9v (4x2GB)
MSI HD5970
Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Cooler Master HAF X

First things first, the motherboard is using a beta BIOS (v3027) in order to support the bulldozer CPU. With this beta there are a number of options missing from the BIOS.

From the manual;

3.3.10 CPU & NB Voltage Mode [Offset]
Allows you to set the CPU & CPU/NB Voltage Mode. Different sub-items appear according to the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item setting. Configuration options: [Offset] [Manual]

CPU Offset Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.CPU/NB Offset Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU/NB Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.

CPU Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
[Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU voltage.

CPU/NB Voltage [Auto]
This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
[Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU/NB voltage.


Currently the "CPU & NB Voltage Mode" option is missing, which in turn means the CPU and CPU/NB Voltage options are missing, thus means the only way I can set CPU voltage is via the "CPU Offset Voltage" which I'll be honest, I don't fully understand.

I have disabled cool and quiet, turbo core, ai tweaker, etc and set everything to manual.

With the following settings I've achieved a stable 4.8GHz;

CPU Multiplier: 24
HT: 2600
CPU/NB: 2600
CPU Offset Voltage: 0.100000
NB Voltage: 1.175
HT Voltage: 1.275

Prime95 runs for a couple of hours without any dropped workers and gaming seems perfectly stable but I have a few oddities;

1) The machine boots at 1.5v VCORE, but then drops to 1.488v according to HWMonitor and CPU-Z. When stress testing it increases to 1.52 which brings the full load temps up to around 56C, I don't seem to be able to fix the voltage. This may be due to Load Line Calibration (LLC). LLC may be active and hidden or there may be a manual adjustment. My Asus board has this for both the CPU voltage and the CPUNB voltage.
2) When trying to run 5GHz (25x200) it seems the above fluctuations cause the Prime95 worker processors to fail or the machine to blue screen.
3) Despite the NB voltage being set at 1.175 the board appears to allow it to run up to 1.25 according to its own voltage monitor and also HWMonitor.

I would love to hear if anyone else has this motherboard with a Bulldozer CPU or any advice on how to proceed from here.

Thanks

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-12, 08:02 AM   #4
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
You sure your 1600Mhz RAM is 1.9V? I've never seen DDR3 desktop modules over 1.65
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-12, 08:08 AM   #5
Woomack
Senior Memory Guru
Premium Member #19





Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poznan, Poland

 
many early DDR3 were 1.8-1.9V like Micron, Samsung or Qimonda IC
http://ramlist.i4memory.com/ddr3/

Woomack is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-12, 04:03 PM Thread Starter   #6
MediaJunky
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2010

 
Hey guys, thanks for all your replies.

Does LLC need to be set to Enable or Auto and what is the difference on this board?

I won't see the machine now until next week but will make a few adjustments and see if I can't get the rig running a stable 5GHz, are there any other suggestions on how to achieve this?

Thanks again.

__________________
RIG #1 - Asus Sabertooth R2.0 || AMD FX8350 Black Edition || Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme ||GSkill F3-2400C10-8GTX 2400MHz (2x8GB) || Corsair Force 3 120GB || Gigabyte GTX680 || Antec HCG-620 PSU || Coolermaster HAF 922 Case || Windows 8.1 Pro

RIG #2 - Asus Crosshair IV Extreme || AMD Phenom II 1100T Black Edition || Corsair H70 CPU Cooler ||OCZ DDR3 2000Mhz Dual Channel RAM (2x4GB) || OCZ Vertex 2 160GB SSD || XFX HD5970 4GB || Coolermaster 1000W PSU || Coolermaster HAF-X Case || Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)
MediaJunky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-12, 04:05 PM Thread Starter   #7
MediaJunky
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
You sure your 1600Mhz RAM is 1.9V? I've never seen DDR3 desktop modules over 1.65
Its early DDR3 OCZ Reaper HPC. On OCZ site the specification actually says 1.7v but on the modules themselves, it says 7-7-7-24 @ 1.9v.

Thanks

__________________
RIG #1 - Asus Sabertooth R2.0 || AMD FX8350 Black Edition || Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme ||GSkill F3-2400C10-8GTX 2400MHz (2x8GB) || Corsair Force 3 120GB || Gigabyte GTX680 || Antec HCG-620 PSU || Coolermaster HAF 922 Case || Windows 8.1 Pro

RIG #2 - Asus Crosshair IV Extreme || AMD Phenom II 1100T Black Edition || Corsair H70 CPU Cooler ||OCZ DDR3 2000Mhz Dual Channel RAM (2x4GB) || OCZ Vertex 2 160GB SSD || XFX HD5970 4GB || Coolermaster 1000W PSU || Coolermaster HAF-X Case || Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)
MediaJunky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-12, 09:15 PM   #8
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaJunky View Post
Hey guys, thanks for all your replies.

Does LLC need to be set to Enable or Auto and what is the difference on this board?

I won't see the machine now until next week but will make a few adjustments and see if I can't get the rig running a stable 5GHz, are there any other suggestions on how to achieve this?

Thanks again.
That's a good question. The best way to tell what effect each setting will have in the real world is to try each one and note the effect it has on CPU vcore both at idle in Windows and under load as compared to what you set vcore to in bios. HWMonitor is a good program to check this.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?