• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PS Vita? Anyone have one?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deathman20

High Speed Premium Senior
Curious to how people like there PS Vita? I've really thought of getting one as I did have a PSP (Gen1) a long time ago and sold it off a few years back. Though I do miss it, but I do have a smartphone which helps but its no specific gaming machine.

Personal experience with one anyone?

I have no personal experience, but I did quite a bit of reading about it when I first heard of it. It has a quad core processor clocked somewhere between 800 mhz and 1.5 ghz, and it's graphics processor is 16 times as powerful as an iPad's.

Sounds like fun. :D

I got to play with one and I can tell you this just from my short time with it. I initially thought it was just a slightly revamped PSP but after actually holding one in my hands and playing with it, it's 100X nicer than the PSP ever was in any incarnation. The control stick on it (both of them) and the buttons feel a lot smoother than the PSP. It feels much larger but thinner and more comfortable in the hands. The screen is very bright and vibrant. It's not at all hard on the eyes like the PSP could be at times.

That being said, the DS-Lite and the PSP were the last handheld console systems I'm ever buying and I sold them a few years ago. I can't really say that I'm ever on the move and not too preoccupied long enough to ever play a portable. I guess if you're a person who has long public-transportation commutes or is a frequent flyer then I could see it but if I'm at home, I've got no desire to play a portable.

I do fly here and there on business so it would be used for that type of thing since there is no way I can use my laptop most of the time on flights, besides it only lasts 2 hours max when gaming.