Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Displays and Digital Cameras
Displays and Digital Cameras Monitors, Digital Cameras, etc.
Forum Jump

to DVI or not?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-12, 07:33 PM Thread Starter   #1
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
to DVI or not?


so, i got this monitor that comes with a DVI and VGA input. it didn't come with a DVI cable(is it the standard?). so... is it worth the hassle to go to the city and buy a DVI cable? it's fairly ok now, using VGA.
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-12, 08:22 PM   #2
Bartuc666
Registered

 
Bartuc666's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Faroe Islands

 
What is the resolution of the monitor?
Bartuc666 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-12, 08:43 PM   #3
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
DVI will support setting of higher resolutions than VGA. That's the only real difference.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-19-12)
Old 03-18-12, 11:02 PM Thread Starter   #4
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
i use it at 1600x900(that's its max resolution) using the supplied VGA cable. i'm not satisfied with some fringing on the text as i see it now. reducing the text size(browser) somewhat makes it clearer though.
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-12, 11:13 PM   #5
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Don't buy cables at stores they are way over priced. Get them from Amazon or somewhere online. I recently got a cable from Amazon by Bluerigger that is really solid. I would recommend their cables.
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-22-12)
Old 03-19-12, 12:28 AM Thread Starter   #6
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
@juane, the question though is whether i'm going to get an improvement or not. if i will just get a slight improvement using digital instead of analog, i think i will just use my current setup.
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-12, 01:04 AM   #7
Cigarsmoker
Member



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

 
Personally I'd go with DVI. To my eyes it's a noticeable improvement.
Cigarsmoker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-19-12)
Old 03-19-12, 01:05 AM   #8
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by morinfen View Post
@juane, the question though is whether i'm going to get an improvement or not. if i will just get a slight improvement using digital instead of analog, i think i will just use my current setup.
That depends on the monitor and the computer that you have. I just got a new monitor recently that has a vgi and a dvi port. My laptop only has vga and hdmi, so initially I was connecting my laptop to the external monitor with a vga cable. I got a lot of interference with the vga connection on my laptop. My laptop's vga port doesn't have the holes for the screw pins which I think help to ground the cable. Without being able to screw in the cable to my laptop I was getting these weird waves going up and down my screen. When I connected the monitor to my desktop using vga it was crystal clear. I ended up getting an hdmi to dvi cable from bluerigger and now the monitor looks great connected to my laptop. In my case, the dvi cable made a big difference in image quality when connected to my laptop. The vga connection looks good with my desktop, but even though I have both PCs set to 1080p the monitor looks better when connected to my laptop.

Anyway... that's my recent experience with vga and dvi. I personally think it's worth it. Digital connections always look better to me than analog connections. Not everyone thinks the difference is that big of a deal though.

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-19-12)
Old 03-19-12, 01:32 AM   #9
jmh547
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
Personally I noticed a huge difference going from VGA to DVI with my cheapo acer monitor. With vga it was fuzzy almost blurry, with dvi it is crystal clear.

Monoprice = good cheap cables

__________________
| ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K | G.Skill 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 | Kingston V100 128Gb | EVGA GTX 570 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | OCZ Fatal1ty 550 watt |
Heatware
jmh547 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-19-12)
Old 03-19-12, 01:52 AM Thread Starter   #10
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
thank you guys. i'm buying the cable tomorrow.
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-12, 01:53 AM   #11
Cigarsmoker
Member



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

 
Just for closure, be nice if you post back with feedback after trying the DVI cable.
Cigarsmoker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-12, 02:29 AM Thread Starter   #12
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
i was kind of looking for a closeup shot of the screen at the same resolutions comparing DVI and VGA but found none... i'll post a macro shot tomorrow.
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-12, 07:30 PM Thread Starter   #13
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
how overpriced is overpriced? i'll be getting it for about 8USD for a 1.5m 24+1 cable.
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-12, 08:17 PM   #14
Fight Game
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
seems like a good price, but compare the final price (add shipping) it to another suggested store. also compare it to something just a little bit longer, just in case you need it in the future. when i bought some cables a couple years ago, sometimes I would even see longer ones for cheaper...supply and demand i guess
Fight Game is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-12, 08:18 PM   #15
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by morinfen View Post
how overpriced is overpriced? i'll be getting it for about 8USD for a 1.5m 24+1 cable.
That's pretty good. You could probably get one for less but $8 is way better than the $20-40 that you'd pay in a store.

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-12, 06:00 AM Thread Starter   #16
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
so... here's the direct comparison between DVI and VGA





can you guess which one is digital and which one is analog? i couldn't. the DVI is just a teeny bit sharp compared to VGA but it could be the autofocus of my camera. too lazy to take the DSLR out of the box. i also just took a limited amount (three) of pictures to get this over with.

the fist picture is the one taken using VGA. here's another view.




i found out that DVI is still better than VGA because i get interference which is visible when the display is about 80% black. using DVI gets rid of the interference 100%.

total spent: $7US
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-12, 06:53 AM   #17
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
VGA can pick up interference (I get to deal with this with my docking station at my other house for my laptop). VGA also blurs text a little bit at 1080p on my monitors. It's nothing bad, and i probably wouldn't notice if i hadn't run one VGA and one DVI next to each other for a few days, but there difference is there.

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-21-12)
Old 03-21-12, 11:06 AM   #18
Scuba Steve VA
Registered

 
Scuba Steve VA's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2012

 
In general, I think it depends on your display adapter and the monitor. I have tested both on a range of monitors...and have seen significant differences.

And for cables, monoprice.com is the king. I just bought two high-quality 10 foot DVI-D cables there for less than 15 beans.

__________________
Case: Fractal Design Arc Mini (mATX) with 3 x Noiseblocker BlackSilentPro PLPS 120mm PWM
MB: ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z / Gen 3
CPU: i7 2600k @ 4.2
Cooler: CM Hyper 212 EVO with 2 x XtraFlo 120mm PWM
RAM: 4 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600
GPU: MSI N570GTX Twin Frozr III OC/PE
SDD: 256GB Corsair Performance Pro
HDD: 2 x 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
Optical: ASUS DRW-24B1ST
PSU: Corsair AX750
OS: Win 7 Pro 64 bit
System Album
Scuba Steve VA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-21-12)
Old 03-21-12, 07:00 PM Thread Starter   #19
morinfen
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
it could be that buying a better VGA cable might have solved my problems since 1600x900 is not that high.
morinfen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-12, 12:38 PM   #20
notJUSTguitar

 
notJUSTguitar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: MN, USA

 
Make sure you get a single-link DVI cable if that's what your monitor has....I found out the hard way. I bought 3 DVI cables for $25 online and turns out they are dual-link and i'm unable to use them
Nevermind...Didn't read every post and didn't think you had gotten it yet

__________________
i7 2600K (56x chip)
Asus Maximus IV Gene-z/GEN3 Z68
MSI R7970 Lightning
8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866Mhz
Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :)
OCZ 700W ModXtreme Pro PSU
Asus VH232H 23" LCD x3 in eyefinity/6036X1080 Resolution
Retired AMD Rig
AMD Phenom II 1090T | GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H (Rev. 1) | XFX Radeon HD6970 | | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 memory running at 1066Mhz | OCZ VERTEX 2 60GB SSD | Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :) | OCZ 700W PSU | HP-Debranded 23" 1080P LCD
notJUSTguitar is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
morinfen (03-22-12)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Displays and Digital Cameras
Displays and Digital Cameras Monitors, Digital Cameras, etc.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?