• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to overclocking. What do you think?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hansthegerman

Registered
How's it goin guys. I'm new to overclocking but I decided to play around a little bit. I have...
AMD Phenom x2 555 black edition (All 4 cores unlocked :attn:)
Gigabyte GA870A-UD3 Rev 3.1 mobo
EVGA GTX 460SE
8Gb PNY Optima Ram
Thermaltake TR2 600W PSU
Samsung Spinpoint 1tb HDD
OCZ Agility 3 60gb SSD

Anyway, I was able to get the processor to 4Ghz w/ 1.4 Vcore and multiplier only. Ran Prime95 for 12 hours and still had all 4 cores running. Usually core 3 dropped out first if I had stability issues. CPU temp was usually around 64c, but in the morning it went up to 68. Oh and it's being cooled by a ZALMAN CNPS9500. Anyway, heres screenshot of CPU-Z and early Prime95
yeahhh.jpg
I was just wondering if this was right. Being new at this I'm not sure what to expect, but 4GHz with only 1.4Vcore on air seems almost too good to be true.

Oh and memory is manually set at 1t, which hasn't failed... yet.

Anywords?

68c? Oh my god :shock: . Most of us are scared when we hit 55c and are trembling when we hit 60c. You're going to burn the **** outta your CPU if you keep that OC up...

Can you post a HWMonitor picture and tell us what setup you have for fans in your PC?

Really? I was reading a topic yesterday where the guy was running same CPU at 81 and people were telling him not to go over 70? I figured 68 at max load after 12 hours was okay?:confused:

Are you sure it wasn't an Intel thread? All Intel processors have a higher thermal limit than AMD (which is about 60c)

I'm 99% sure it was an AMD thread. I dont have the thread anymore but I'm pretty sure it was someone with the same CPU and same Mobo. So I shouldn't go above 55?