Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

How do WD HDDs handle OCing?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-02, 05:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
Garfield
Member

 
Garfield's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Jersey

 
How do WD HDDs handle OCing?


What, in your experience, would be "cutting it close" when OCing your computer with a WD HDD in it? What would the FSB be where the hdd might get unstable? I've heard some stories about going too high with a WD. Any suggestions/advice?
Garfield is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-02, 05:54 AM   #2
Yodums
Senior Member

 
Yodums's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada

 
Mine died... Nuff said.

__________________
Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.
Yodums is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-02, 07:17 AM   #3
Shmuck
Member

 
Shmuck's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CO

 
yeah, they are uptight


yeah, my WD HD seems to be a bit finicky, and it doesn't respond well to almost any tweaking. If it starts locking up on you, then you know. And trust me, it will just stop. It's almost funny. All of a sudden, freeeze! Reboot time.
Shmuck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-02, 02:10 PM Thread Starter   #4
Garfield
Member

 
Garfield's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Jersey

 
So what FSB would be pushing it? 145?
Garfield is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-02, 02:20 PM   #5
SilverNBlack
Registered

 
SilverNBlack's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NorCal

 
Ummmmm, get a Maxtor. I am so glad I didn't grab that WD.
SilverNBlack is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-02, 05:38 PM Thread Starter   #6
Garfield
Member

 
Garfield's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Jersey

 
I've already got the WD and I'm not regretting it...yet. Reading threads for so long, some people say Maxtor handles OCing better, others say WD does. I don't know.
Garfield is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-02, 02:54 AM   #7
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
WD HDD


My 40GB 7200 ATA100 WD died after about 3 months of use. I typically ran the FSB between 145-152. Have a Maxtor now, but haven't set itup yet b/c my motherboard is fired (stupid mistake on my part, don't ask). My new one should come tomorrow, and then I can see how well the Maxtor does.

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?