• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Few questions from a 1st time w/c'er

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jonnL

Alright I'm planning my new build which will include watercooling. As it's my first time I'm having a dilemma choosing which kit to purchase.

2 kits in question are:

XSPC Raystorm kit w/ RX360 Radiator $299.99
http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...oduct_info&cPath=59_202_972&products_id=33549
or
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1..._Free_Kill_Coil_Hot_item.html?tl=g30c321s1310

or
XSPC Raystorm kit w/ EX360 Radiator $259.99
http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...oduct_info&cPath=59_202_972&products_id=33590

Also there's a few fan choices:
Stock Fans that come with the kit
XSPC 120mm 1200RPM Fan
XSPC 120mm 1650RPM Fan
XSPC 120mm 2000RPM Fan
Yate Loon 120mm 1300 RPM Fan
Yate Loon 120mm 1650 RPM Fan
Yate Loon 120mm 2250 RPM Fan

Pump choices:
Alphacool VPP655
Swiftech MCP655-B
Swiftech MCP655 ($15.00) <-- equivilent to the Alphacool? Variable pump speeds?

The EX is a slimmer rad which means I would have to go with faster/louder fans for the same performance as the RX on a low RPM fan? But I'm not sure if that's worth the $40 savings? What do you guys think? My case is the Corsair 600t so do you think it's best to save the $40 and get the faster/louder fans and hook them up to the fan controller or spend the extra cash for the RX rad and get that extra room for cooling/ quietness?

I will be adding in a full coverage video card block as well into the loop.

Last question is 7/16" ID or 1/2" ID tubing? I've read that there's not much performance gain, if any between the two and that it's only a visual thing?

Thanks guys

You have that last part wrong. Thinner rads can accept lower speed fans and thicker dads require high speed fans:)