Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

i7 920 overclock to 4ghz

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-12, 08:58 AM Thread Starter   #1
Hawaiiansnow
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
i7 920 overclock to 4ghz


Hi, I'm running a Gigabyte x58 oc m/b i7 920 cpu notcha dh-14 cpu fan. 16 gb of ddr3 ram.

I have turned the 4ghz button on, it has taken my i7 to 4ghz i ran an occt test and its stable, temps get to 82c if that to high?

Thanks for reading/replying
Hawaiiansnow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 09:43 AM   #2
williamdeep
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
I believe the Intel processor spec for that chip is 67.9C. Personally, I would not run an i7-920 at 82C. Probably 70C max. What is your vcore?
williamdeep is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 10:00 AM Thread Starter   #3
Hawaiiansnow
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
1.35v
Hawaiiansnow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 10:05 AM Thread Starter   #4
Hawaiiansnow
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
day to day use is 55c
running bf3 its 72c
Hawaiiansnow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 10:10 AM   #5
williamdeep
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawaiiansnow View Post
1.35v
I was just curious. 1.35V is well within the acceptable range. (Intel spec is 0.800V-1.375V).

You should look for a way to improve your processor cooling to bring down those temps. That's what I would do.
williamdeep is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 11:24 AM   #6
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamdeep View Post
I believe the Intel processor spec for that chip is 67.9C. Personally, I would not run an i7-920 at 82C. Probably 70C max. What is your vcore?
The 67.9C spec refers to Tcase max. (case temp / CPU temp), and not TjMax of 95-100C which relates to the core temp's (Tjuncton) as read by both Real Temp and Core Temp. As long as the OP is referring to the average core temp, 82C is ~18C below TjMax which is somewhat high but OK considering a 1.35V Vcore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by williamdeep View Post
I was just curious. 1.35V is well within the acceptable range. (Intel spec is 0.800V-1.375V).
That voltage spec refers to the VID Voltage Range, and not the absolute maximum Vcc / Vcore for the i7-900 series chips. The absolute max. Vcc as given by Intel for the i7-900 series is 1.55V.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 11:56 AM   #7
djscrew
Member



Join Date: Nov 2010

 
that temp is acceptable, but if you really want to see what temps your PC will get up to over time try out prime95 small fft mode for an hour or two. If you stay under 90 you should be okay!

you may also be able to lower that vcore of yours.

__________________

24/7 PC
CPU: i7 950 d0 @ 4.022 GHz (1.21v)
QPI: 6.894 GHz (1.40v)
RAM: OCZ DDR3 2000 2GB x 6 @ 1914 Mhz, 8-9-8-24-1T (1.66v)
Cooling: Corsair H50 Under 90C core temps stable in Prime95 Blend.
Mobo: Asus Rampage III Formula
GPU: MSI Hawk 460 GTX
Boot SSD: OCZ Revodrive 120 GB
Case: Corsair 700D
PSU: Corsair HX850
djscrew is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 03:25 PM Thread Starter   #8
Hawaiiansnow
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
thanks to all for the replies
Hawaiiansnow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-12, 05:50 PM Thread Starter   #9
Hawaiiansnow
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
also i have a gtx 560 soc as graphics can i put a gtx 560 ti or a gtx 560 oc in with it in sli or has it got to be the same gtx 560 soc
Hawaiiansnow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 04:30 PM   #10
Shadowmonk

 
Shadowmonk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawaiiansnow View Post
also i have a gtx 560 soc as graphics can i put a gtx 560 ti or a gtx 560 oc in with it in sli or has it got to be the same gtx 560 soc
It needs to be a GTX 560 with the same memory size as the other card, the 560 ti will not SLI with a standard gtx 560, so a gtx 560 OC will SLI fine with what you have as long as they are both either the 1gb or 2gb versions.
Shadowmonk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-12, 03:23 PM Thread Starter   #11
Hawaiiansnow
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
thanks for that, just to be sure ive ordered my 2nd gtx560 soc

Has everyone seen the offer in aria for the x58 oc? wow, i got one.

http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials/...roductId=44485

and i have 2 of these now.

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=48953
Hawaiiansnow is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?