Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Samsung SSD 830 firmware update question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-12, 03:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
Bobsen
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Samsung SSD 830 firmware update question


Hi all,

I just finished cloning my new Samsung SSD 830 series (512 GB) from my old Intel 160 GB one with Macirum Reflect, all went well and everything is working fine. But, (there is always a but), I noticed there is an updated firmware available for my new drive. I tried to install it prior to the cloning but the Samsung SSD magician could not 'see' my new SSD (after the cloning it 'saw' it).

Now I have some options to update my firmware and the quickest way would be the way via windows and Samsung magician, but is it the best?

Can some kind soul help a noob (with two left thumbs) with a 'play by play' of what the best and safest way to update the hardware would be?

Thanks in advance,

Bobsen
Bobsen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 11:36 AM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Use the Magician software from within Windows... browse to the new Firmware Update Image, create a bootable USB disk, then just boot to it after first changing the boot order in the BIOS.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 12:02 PM Thread Starter   #3
Bobsen
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
Use the Magician software from within Windows... browse to the new Firmware Update Image, create a bootable USB disk, then just boot to it after first changing the boot order in the BIOS.
So you don't recommend trying to update it via the windows application itself?
Does the USB disk have to be FAT 32 or can it be NTFS? The reason I ask is all my USB disks are NTFS.

Thanks for your help,
Bobsen
Bobsen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 12:09 PM   #4
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
The Windows app creates the bootable disk for you, which you then need to boot to in order to update the firmware.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 12:56 PM   #5
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Usually updating firmware from Windows it a bit dicey - that's why it's recommended to boot to a USB disk instead. I'm guessing the app is going to wipe the USB drive you give it.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 02:28 PM Thread Starter   #6
Bobsen
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Great, thanks for the help guys....

Regards,

Bobsen
Bobsen is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?