• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

high voltage with core i7 2600k ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

anarchoi

Registered
Hello,

I'm a noob with overclocking. I recently installed a custom loop water cooling system and i want to see how far i can push my core i7 2600k

So far the highest i could get is only 4.5ghz but at 1.38v (in bios)

It looks very high to me, i've read on this forum that many people were able to achieve 4.5ghz and even 4.8ghz at 1.30v .... I've also read that the maximum recommended is 1.4v (some people are saying that intel doesn't recommend going over 1.8v)...

Even with my water cooling, my CPU temp gets up to 70C while doing a stress test on Prime95

I have also tryed to let the voltage on auto mode, but the highest i can go without manually setting the voltage is only 4ghz :(
When going on auto mode, Core Temp tells me that the voltage is 1.37v... still looks high, but at least the Prime95 temp stay around 60C

Anything below these voltages will get me a lot of BSOD while running Prime95, or sometimes windows just won't boot

- Is it normal that i need high voltage like that with my CPU ?
- How come most of the people are able to achieve similar overclocks with only 1.30v ?
- This is a 24-7 setup, so i guess 1.38v is too high ?
- If i get 1.37v (CoreTemp) on auto-voltage mode (4ghz), does it means it is useless to try anything below 1.37v @ >4ghz ?
- In other words, i have a piece of **** CPU, right ?

thanks !