Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Anyone go over 2 GB's of Vram! post here :)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-12, 05:59 AM   #21
xander89
Member

 
xander89's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
BF3 will do it at 1920x1080, Ultra + 4xAA.
oh dear my gtx 480 must be struggling with 1.5gig. Playing bf3 maxed on a 1920X1080. oh dear

__________________

Mobo:asus z68 gen 3
RAM:16GB ddr3 dual channel (1866mhz)
CPU:Intel® Core™ i7 2700k@ 5ghz 1.45v (watercooled)
GFX card: GTX 780 @ 1228 mhz core boost, memory 6600mhz (watercooled)
PSU:ZM850-HP
HDD: Primary: SSD, corsair force 3 120GB, Storage:750GB Seagate ( 7,2000 rpm 32mb cache)
Case:Corsair 800d
OS:Windows 7 Professional 64bit
xander89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 09:19 AM   #22
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frakk View Post
What do you think of it? its on my wanted list.
The 7850? Amazing card
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 09:20 AM   #23
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
With those settings at 1920X1080 i only maxed out 1564mb of Vram
Not sure what to tell you... except that this person I linked sniffed it.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 09:21 AM   #24
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
The 7850? Amazing card

Want more data

Whats your high, ave, low FPS in BF3 stock 64 player vehicle maps? (ultra preset)

Also, will you be overclocking?

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 09:39 AM   #25
wagex
Premium Member #13


 
wagex's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: newkirk, oklahoma

 
my card has 2gb of ram but i dont play any games that can tax it anymore. lol hardest gpu game ive played is the cod series and i doubt any of them maxxed it out even at 1920 and ultra settings. now all i play is cod4 and league of legends which both use almost none haha

__________________
rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u---------------htpc-apex htpc case
2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core--------------------e6600 @ 3.0ghz
p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte g41
8gb gskill 2x4 1600 --------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC -----------2x2b ddr3 1600
xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard -----------------------------------HD 5450
corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450----------------------------------275w came with case
custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive ---------------------xigmatek durin
win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter--------------win 7 64 bit
steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
"You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum
wagex is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 09:45 AM   #26
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagex View Post
my card has 2gb of ram but i dont play any games that can tax it anymore. lol hardest gpu game ive played is the cod series and i doubt any of them maxxed it out even at 1920 and ultra settings. now all i play is cod4 and league of legends which both use almost none haha
COD? as in Call Of Duty?

Sacrilege!!!! How could you? What could your GPU possibly have done to deserve the COD treatment?

It would be so much happier rendering this... http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=706540

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:17 AM   #27
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frakk View Post
Want more data

Whats your high, ave, low FPS in BF3 stock 64 player vehicle maps? (ultra preset)

Also, will you be overclocking?
Let me do a fraps run for you while i have time

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:21 AM   #28
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 


PS: you might have to turn vsync off to go over 60 FPS, if it will get there...

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:21 AM   #29
xander89
Member

 
xander89's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagex View Post
my card has 2gb of ram but i dont play any games that can tax it anymore. lol hardest gpu game ive played is the cod series and i doubt any of them maxxed it out even at 1920 and ultra settings. now all i play is cod4 and league of legends which both use almost none haha
COD......... i think now is an appropriate time for this gif to come out



only messing, a 7850 will munch up both of them maxed out

__________________

Mobo:asus z68 gen 3
RAM:16GB ddr3 dual channel (1866mhz)
CPU:Intel® Core™ i7 2700k@ 5ghz 1.45v (watercooled)
GFX card: GTX 780 @ 1228 mhz core boost, memory 6600mhz (watercooled)
PSU:ZM850-HP
HDD: Primary: SSD, corsair force 3 120GB, Storage:750GB Seagate ( 7,2000 rpm 32mb cache)
Case:Corsair 800d
OS:Windows 7 Professional 64bit
xander89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:33 AM   #30
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frakk View Post


PS: you might have to turn vsync off to go over 60 FPS, if it will get there...
Ultra Quality, everything maxed out at 1920X1080, 1200c, 1375m overclock


Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
16974, 300000, 25, 92, 56.580

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:34 AM   #31
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
[Right click save as]

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:36 AM   #32
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Speaking of COD. I hate to say this but Black Ops 2 looks interesting only because its future based

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:40 AM   #33
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
Ultra Quality, everything maxed out at 1920X1080, 1200c, 1375m overclock


Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
16974, 300000, 25, 92, 56.580

25 to 92 lol that's a big difference, was it smooth? and i do mean smooth... i get annoyed at even the slightest lag.

you know you have to be fast in BF3 or you just get owned, if its not smooth it creates lag at which point your not that split second competitive.

i actually run my setting lower than i can just to get the maximum FPS, it eliminates that lag.

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:43 AM   #34
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frakk View Post
25 to 92 lol that's a big difference, was it smooth? and i do mean smooth... i get annoyed at even the slightest lag.

you know you have to be fast in BF3 or you just get owned, if its not smooth it creates lag at which point your not that split second competitive.

i actually run my setting lower than i can just to get the maximum FPS, it eliminates that lag.
Filled 64 man server, no studders, shutters, spikes, whatsoever. I wouldn't own this card if BF3 wasn't smooth.

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:46 AM   #35
micjmac
Member

 
micjmac's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010

 
Considering he was averaging 56, the 25 is an outlier. I'm willing to bet it ran very smoothly.

Also, he had AA on which really isn't necessary. It's just a waste of those precious frames lol.

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5-750 @ 3.8 GHz
GFX: Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB3
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 12 GB DDR3-1140 9-9-9-24-2T
PSU: Antec EarthWatts EA650
HDD: WD Caviar Blue 500 GB, 7200 RPM, 16 MB Cache
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
Monitor: ASUS VH226H 21.5", 2ms
OS: Windows 7, 64 bit
micjmac is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:48 AM   #36
wagex
Premium Member #13


 
wagex's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: newkirk, oklahoma

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
Speaking of COD. I hate to say this but Black Ops 2 looks interesting only because its future based
as bad as they have failed on all the ones besides cod4 mw1 i dont see it being very good. mw2 was the best one besides cod4, cept the matchmaking that lead to the zillion hackers they need to remake mw1 with newer graphics (like they did with halo) and that would be awesome. theres more servers on cod4 still than any of the new ones combined and its super old

__________________
rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u---------------htpc-apex htpc case
2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core--------------------e6600 @ 3.0ghz
p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte g41
8gb gskill 2x4 1600 --------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC -----------2x2b ddr3 1600
xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard -----------------------------------HD 5450
corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450----------------------------------275w came with case
custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive ---------------------xigmatek durin
win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter--------------win 7 64 bit
steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
"You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum
wagex is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:48 AM   #37
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Alright good Thanks for that, the 7850 stays on my list of possibilities.

@ wagex, there are plenty of hackers on BF3, you can not get away from them, i run into one every other round

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:49 AM   #38
micjmac
Member

 
micjmac's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010

 
Don, I'm hearing the Sapphires run cool and overclock nicely as well. I'm so excited for this card to come in. UPS why don't you deliver on Saturday?!!!

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5-750 @ 3.8 GHz
GFX: Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB3
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 12 GB DDR3-1140 9-9-9-24-2T
PSU: Antec EarthWatts EA650
HDD: WD Caviar Blue 500 GB, 7200 RPM, 16 MB Cache
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
Monitor: ASUS VH226H 21.5", 2ms
OS: Windows 7, 64 bit
micjmac is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:51 AM   #39
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by micjmac View Post
Don, I'm hearing the Sapphires run cool and overclock nicely as well. I'm so excited for this card to come in. UPS why don't you deliver on Saturday?!!!
Sapphire would have been my 2nd choice if the Asus wasn't available.

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 10:52 AM   #40
micjmac
Member

 
micjmac's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010

 
I didn't see any Asus on Newegg. Also, these things are a hot commodity right now, so I was definitely fine settling with the Sapphire, even if it is inferior to the Asus! I'll finally be spared of BF3 on low settings

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5-750 @ 3.8 GHz
GFX: Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB3
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 12 GB DDR3-1140 9-9-9-24-2T
PSU: Antec EarthWatts EA650
HDD: WD Caviar Blue 500 GB, 7200 RPM, 16 MB Cache
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
Monitor: ASUS VH226H 21.5", 2ms
OS: Windows 7, 64 bit
micjmac is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?