• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

goonz172

Registered
Hi,

I'm new to overclocking and I'm planning to buy the Asus Rampage IV Extreme. My question is do I need any additional cables to monitor CPU temperatures? What other cables I need to monitor the other temperatures? Is there any other parts or equipment I will need to start overclocking?

Thanks

Hi goonz.

You won't need anything extra. There are already temp sensors in your cpu, so all you need to do is download a temp monitoring program like Realtemp to keep an eye on them.

Other than that, just make sure you buy a -k SKU CPU. If the CPU name doesn't end in K (such as 3570K), you can't overclock it and you'll be a sad camper with a very expensive motherboard!

That's basic overclocking though. If you're wanting to get into really astronomical overclocks and benching (and the motherboard you chose makes me think you might because that's the only reason you'd need that extravagant of a board) then you'd probably be best off talking to a bencher.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. When you say to make sure the CPU has a -K at the end, does that mean the i7-3820 cannot be overclocked?

There is no 3820 "K", hence the highest multiplier it supports is x43 = 4.3GHz (turbos to 3.9GHz at the default 100 BCLK and x39 multiplier, and to 4.4GHz using the x44 multiplier). Theoretically it could hit as high as 5.3 GHz w/ a 125 BCLK, but more reasonable would be a 4.63GHz clock using a 125 BCLK and x37 multiplier.

Last edited:
Ah Ok thank you. Then the R4E and i7-3820 would be ok for overclocking if I'm understanding this right?