• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q6600 very low temps?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RacingTopsy

Hi everyone!

I think it's finally time to oc my q6600 as it's starting to bottleneck the rest of my pc.
(Q6600, 4gb ddr2 mushkin 1066mhz, Asus p5K, Nvidia gtx460)

The problem is that Speedfan (and other programs) read 28°C in idle and 35-38°C under load.
I find that sort of intriguing and gives me the idea the temp reading might be damaged?

I've got a Arctic Freezer 7pro on it.

And is there an idiot proof guide to the q6600 somewhere? I'm totally new to overclocking!

Thanks!

Thanks! Quite forgot that that programme existed! :)
I've got 35/35/27/30 now. can believe that much better. ^^

Thanks for the guide!

Last edited:
coretemp or realtemp are the two people use, i also suggest getting cpuz. if you can give us the stepping listed for the cpu that would help alot. as there are 2 steppings for the Q6600, the B3's while they do oc, they run really hot. the latter G0 steppings run really cool and allow for some nice oc'. with the cooler you have, i dont see getting really high oc's being possible. taking a guess just being cooling limited you may top out at 3.6ghz should the cpu be a G0 stepping. if it were a B3 it would be maybe 3.4ghz if your lucky.

I've luckily got G0 stepping :) I'm actually just aiming for ~3.0Ghz and not much more at the moment.

Thought of buying a Spire Thermax Eclipse II - Are they any good?

Edit:

Do I need to have any BIOS settings enabled/disabled differently from in this howto, as it was written for XP? I've got win7
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=515316

Edit2: I can't find "PECI" and "Intel Speedstep" anywhere. Do you think that matters?