• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please help me! I am a newbie!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

looking4ghe

hi, I'm new to the forum and know nothing about computer.
My current set up is:
i7-3820 cpu
agility 3 120gb ssd
hyper 212 evo cpu fan
asrock x79 extreme4-M motherboard
evga geforce GTX 680 Superclock graphic card.

I can't decide which ram to buy for my set up. I know that I want to get 2 x 8gb sticks for now, so if i need more, I can add 2 more later on. Also which powersupply is good and reliable, and I want a blueray copier as well. Please guide me. I've done alot of research on google and found nothing but this forum. Oh yeah, the listed items above is already purchased, I only need ram, powersupply, and blueray drive. Thanks so much guys!!:)

you are going to want 4 sticks of ram for that system so it can run in its native quad channel memory 4x4 sticks will be faster then 2x8 on that system and shouldn't really be any need to get over 16 gigs these days unless your running some major memory sucking programs i can run just about anything and only use like 25% ram with 16 gigs. as far as power supply's go i would get a corsair psu.

I went with 600W GS from Corsair. But I hear TX series are even better. So yeah, get a Corsair. At the moment it seems like they are the way to go when compared to the other manfactors!

Edit: From the all knowledgeable Knufire ( he posted this in anther thread)

"Check the recommended PSU list for the best of the best. Also, I personally only trust reviews from [H]ardOCP, Hardware Secrets, or even better, JonnyGuru. If you can't find a review of a PSU on either of those three websites, DON'T buy it."

here is the list: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=589708

... you heard the man!

Last edited: