• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Newbie trying to get x12 on QX6700

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GWExtreme

Hi all.

Please assist, I used to build pcs when I was a student but haven't invested in PCs for years and trying to get some extra speed out of my new second hand bits bits.

I recently purchased a qx6700 2.66 intel core Extreme, ga-p35-ds3r 1.1, and Crucial Ballistix BLT2CP4G3D1337DT1TX0CEU 8GB Kit (4GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM.

I've read that through tweeking x12/13 can be achieved but I cant find the right balance.

I've managed to get slight increase x11 with just one step in voltage from its base which i think is 3.125 and runs error free on prime 95 for hours on end.
I've got a axe cube and 3 venom 120mm fans and it max temp in this set up is 56dc.

I've tried to apply x12 to this and stepped the voltage in step the max i went to being 1.362. All these variations have caused prime 95 to drop a core from 3 minutes to 17 mins. i also tried changing 266 to 333 with similar and sometimes non-booting results.

Has anyone got a similar set-up, and can advise the settings to successfully achieve a x12 on this. I think I have the rig but just dont know what I doing. and help in bios terms would be much appreciated.

Thanks

GW