Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Temp' opinions on OC'd FX-4170

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-12, 12:29 AM Thread Starter   #1
KetoSoi
Member



Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Question Temp' opinions on OC'd FX-4170


I'm starting to wonder if something isnt quite right with the H60 cooler I'm using.

My current setup...

Asus M5A99X EVO mobo
AMD FX-4170
G.Skill 2133 (2 4gb sticks)
Corsair H60 Cooler (using AS5 at this point)
Coolmax 700w PS
Thermaltake Black Edition V3 case (viewing window removed)

2 feed fans, the H60 fan as exhaust.

Attachments as follows. Idle temps indicated... ambient temp about 80*

What do you guys think?
Attached Images
   
KetoSoi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 12:38 AM   #2
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
I think the core temps are believable because there is not much spread between core temps and CPU socket temps in HWMonitor. I worry when there is a huge spread that the core temps are not accurate. The temp you are getting are surprisingly good given the high ambient temps and only using an H60 cooler.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 11:07 AM Thread Starter   #3
KetoSoi
Member



Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by trents View Post
I think the core temps are believable because there is not much spread between core temps and CPU socket temps in HWMonitor. I worry when there is a huge spread that the core temps are not accurate. The temp you are getting are surprisingly good given the high ambient temps and only using an H60 cooler.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding you.... there seems to be quite a wide spread between CPU socket temp and core temp, 43* vs 19*. I thought maybe the Asus mobo was set to intentionally read high on the CPU socket.

Under heavy load, using Intel Burn-in Test by AG, the cores hit 58*C. The board was completely stable, no issues or other weirdness.
KetoSoi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 12:28 PM   #4
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
39* vs 19* = that is Core Temp at some sort of load and Core Temp at IDLE (not heavy use).

The 43* is what many of us still call socket temp and in the line across HWMonitor for those temps are where you would correlate that temp and not to an IDLE Core Temp of 19*.

"trents" was speaking to the 43c CPU Temp and the 39c Core Temp being very close together which is good and they are not overly high in reading.

Now at the very end of your post above you do say this >> "the cores hit 58*C." Now that we consider to be above the 55c which has been the stable, heat limit for many. If you are fully fully stable at that 58c then good, since many are not. Each system can be slightly different. I certainly would not want to see much higher than 60c core temps if it were me.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 01:06 PM Thread Starter   #5
KetoSoi
Member



Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGone View Post
"trents" was speaking to the 43c CPU Temp and the 39c Core Temp being very close together which is good and they are not overly high in reading.

Now at the very end of your post above you do say this >> "the cores hit 58*C." Now that we consider to be above the 55c which has been the stable, heat limit for many. If you are fully fully stable at that 58c then good, since many are not. Each system can be slightly different. I certainly would not want to see much higher than 60c core temps if it were me.
OK, I'm following ya now. That makes more sense, thanks

The core readings hit 58*c during stress tests. That was with a stress level of 'High' on AgentGod's app, over 5 cycles. I've run it quite a few times in repetition. I also have CoreTemp running, and it seems to match HWM consistently. Again, that at an ambient of 26-27*C.

I'm not too concerned at this point based on the VERY useful info you guys provided

So is the CPU socket temp reading just kind of useless?

Thanks guys
KetoSoi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 01:33 PM   #6
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by KetoSoi View Post
So is the CPU socket temp reading just kind of useless?

Thanks guys
Well not really if you believe this later information. You can begin to read at post #82. At that post there is what is said to be the third time the information was brought forth. I guess in that same thread. I am pointing you toward the 82 second post though, not the beginning.

See post #82 and forward.

I post you this link "only" so you will not say you were not advised. "trents" and myself and a few others, mostly have helped users that have issues. It seems just that way. We have been helping FX-series users and have developed a pattern that has worked, that includes temps. We are adjusting upward our temperature Max for FX-series in the HWMonitor CPU CORE TEMP section and is why I said I would not like to see greater than 60c for CPU CORE TEMP which is higher than the 55c for older phenom 2s.

I would not let that link and information from AMD customer support, throw you for a loop. You are within what has proven very effective temps wise over nearly a year now since users have come into this forum section for help with their FX-series. However you are now advised all the way around. I am not changing the way I inspect temps, even being fully aware of the thread I am linking you to.

Good luck man since you seem to have a very clockable FX processor. I had looked hard at the FX-4170 myself due its' higher initial clock which normally means that particular cpu line-up must pass a higher binning process. I however am going to wait in PileDrive before making a move. Again, luck to you man.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 01:52 PM Thread Starter   #7
KetoSoi
Member



Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGone View Post
I would not let that link and information from AMD customer support, throw you for a loop.
Thanks Rgone, that is damn useful information. I'm a Systems Engineer, and that info goes a long way to explain various behaviors I've observed.

I'm going to contact Asus to see how the BIOS is set for reading temps, any offset, via what registers, etc.

I knew I would have fun with this, lol

Thanks again
KetoSoi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 02:17 PM   #8
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Yep, I know about A+ personalities. Hehehe. Was one until I aged and realized I did not have enough time to know everything. In some cases just give me what...leave the why alone.

Would be very interested if Asus offers anything meaningful. They have to stay within the NDA of AMD. You can PM me anything that you feel unwilling to share openly. Thanks man. RGone...ster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KetoSoi View Post
Thanks Rgone, that is damn useful information. I'm a Systems Engineer, and that info goes a long way to explain various behaviors I've observed.

I'm going to contact Asus to see how the BIOS is set for reading temps, any offset, via what registers, etc.

I knew I would have fun with this, lol

Thanks again

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-12, 07:24 PM   #9
caddi daddi
Godzilla to ant hills

 
caddi daddi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
i don't see a problem with his temps at all, i wish mine looked like that at 4.5.................. and his vcore looks right in range.
caddi daddi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-12, 02:40 AM Thread Starter   #10
KetoSoi
Member



Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Thumbs up


Just a little update....

I replaced the stock fan on the H60 with a pair of Cooler Master R4-BMBS-20PK-R0 fans, in a push/pull config.

Ambient was 79*F, 1* lower than my initial post.

1st pic is the pc sitting at idle for a couple hours. 2nd pic shows the result of running AG's Burn-in Test on 'high' stress for 6 cycles.
Attached Images
  
KetoSoi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-12, 09:32 PM   #11
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by KetoSoi View Post
Just a little update....

I replaced the stock fan on the H60 with a pair of Cooler Master R4-BMBS-20PK-R0 fans, in a push/pull config.

Ambient was 79*F, 1* lower than my initial post.

1st pic is the pc sitting at idle for a couple hours. 2nd pic shows the result of running AG's Burn-in Test on 'high' stress for 6 cycles.
Those are good temps, i think there is more in it yet...

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 04:33 PM Thread Starter   #12
KetoSoi
Member



Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Thumbs up


Just thought I'd update this with the latest info...

I changed my case to an Antec 302 for better fan support (its a damn nice case too). My sig has the current setup.

The low temp indicated was the box being idled for about an hour. High temp was me playing Dragon Age II for 90 minutes, lol. Ambient was 78*F.

I'm pretty happy with the results.
Attached Images
 

__________________
Mobo, CPU, RAM: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 BIOS 2501 - AMD FX-8350 stable @ 4.7 ghz - Team Extreem DDR3-2400 2x8GB @ 2400mhz

Cooling System: Swiftech MCR-220 Drive R3 - XSPC RayStorm CPU Waterblock - Tygon Silver 1/2" Tubing - Gelid SpeedTouch6
4 Enermax TB Silence Blue LED 120mm Fans - 1 Cooler Master 140mm Silent Fan - 1 SilenX 80mm Fan (VRM)

Drives: Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256mb - Seagate 1TB 6/GBs - Hitachi 1TB 3/GBs - LG BR-DVD WH16NS40

Video: 2x Sapphire ATI 6870 Crossfire Mode

Case/Power: Antec 302 Case - Cool Power 1080w PS
KetoSoi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 06:01 PM   #13
caddi daddi
Godzilla to ant hills

 
caddi daddi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
you still have plenty of room temp and voltage wise.
caddi daddi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 06:07 PM   #14
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Amen, but if it works there and is playing like you like it you might just be where you don't have to push the processor and then let temps just suddenly at some point, jump up. That happens because you have to pour the voltage to the processor at some point to kick it on up the hill.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 06:09 PM   #15
caddi daddi
Godzilla to ant hills

 
caddi daddi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
+1 Rgonester
caddi daddi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 06:13 PM   #16
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Asus M5A99X EVO, BIOS 1208
XXX CPU W/ Corsair H60 with CM Fan
G.Skill DDR3 2133, 2x4GB
Coolmax 700w
Sapphire ATI 6870
1TB Seagate 6/GBs, 1TB Hitachi 3/GBs, no RAID
Gear Head 24XDVDINT
Realtek HD Onboard
Win7 Ultimate
Antec 302 Case
3 Enermax TB Silence Blue LED 120mm Fans
1 Antec 140mm Silent Fan

GOOD Signature. Where is the CPU in use shown?

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-12, 12:54 AM Thread Starter   #17
KetoSoi
Member



Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGone View Post
GOOD Signature. Where is the CPU in use shown?
Doh! LOL... minor oversight. Fixed

This is what I'm running currently...

Its plays quite well, and is dead stable, temps behave nicely. I think it'll live a long time like this. I might mess with it a little more, but overall I'm satisfied with the whole setup.
Attached Images
  

__________________
Mobo, CPU, RAM: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 BIOS 2501 - AMD FX-8350 stable @ 4.7 ghz - Team Extreem DDR3-2400 2x8GB @ 2400mhz

Cooling System: Swiftech MCR-220 Drive R3 - XSPC RayStorm CPU Waterblock - Tygon Silver 1/2" Tubing - Gelid SpeedTouch6
4 Enermax TB Silence Blue LED 120mm Fans - 1 Cooler Master 140mm Silent Fan - 1 SilenX 80mm Fan (VRM)

Drives: Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256mb - Seagate 1TB 6/GBs - Hitachi 1TB 3/GBs - LG BR-DVD WH16NS40

Video: 2x Sapphire ATI 6870 Crossfire Mode

Case/Power: Antec 302 Case - Cool Power 1080w PS
KetoSoi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-12, 01:15 AM   #18
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Looks pretty slick from where I sit man. The main person I have to please is my ownself and you seem well pleased. Luck man. RGone...ster.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?