• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED i5 750 Overheating in BIOS

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PerOxill

Hey everyone, I am totally new to overclocking but I understand the basic concepts. This in mind, I was doing some research into overclocking my PC because I need the extra CPU speed to do a streaming project for an upcoming MMO. Being a noob I straight googled "i5 750 overclocking guide" and followed the first link. The said link claimed that all I had to do was change my Bclock to 200 and RAM speed to 1600 and I am done......NOPE.

I tried to revert to default and wasn't able to boot, but it wasn't a BSOD. Appariently my CPU was overheating, understandable for going balls to the wall on my first try. That's what I get for being a tryhard. Anyways, I made it back after waiting a while and then re-booting. When I came back to my BIOS settings after switching back to default, I took a quick peek at my CPU temp and it was a scalding 80.0, and rising. I immediately shut down (safely) and waited a long time to see if it was just residual heat from the past boot up. I checked again and it was still around 80.0 degrees and rising with defaults. I continued to the OS to check what my idle temp was and I got around 50.0 degrees after booting.

Something is wrong with this kind of overheat, I am fairly new to this and I can already tell. Is it my cooling? bad airflow in case? am I just stupid? really any suggestions would be of great help here.

TL:DR I am a noob & CPU is at 80 degrees in BIOS / 50 degrees idle in OS

Setup: I did replace RAM with a new set, still DDR3 though

Thanks.
P.S. I will follow THIS sites instructions when I attempt to overclock.

Under the Ai Tweaker tab, what's shown as the Current CPU Core Voltage, and is the CPU Voltage Mode set to Manual or Offset?