Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

asus m5a97 wont boot

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-12, 09:58 AM Thread Starter   #1
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
asus m5a97 wont boot


so i was building a spare rig with my m5a97 and fx6100, i bought it off a friend for cheap and knows for sure it works, so now i built everything with 2x4gb rams and tried to use a old school amd 4xxx gpu to boot since this mobo doesnt have on board graphics and it wont boot, no boot leds no dram led nothin, everything turns on even the graphics card but nothin shows on the screen, what can i try to troubleshoot this? and could it be possible that this graphic card isnt compatible with these newer mobos?

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 07-13-12, 11:28 AM   #2
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
1. You don't mention power supply. Do you have 8 pin CPU power connector plugged into the board from the power supply.

2. FX-6100 is supported "after" bios 0815. Is the bios on that motherboard that new or later?

3. 4xxx PCIe video card should work. If there is a place on video card for power, make sure it has power from power supply.

4. I would certainly remove all power from the motherboard by unplugging the power supply from the A/C outlet and then clear the CmOs. REapply A/C power and try and boot again if Cpu power plug to mobo has been attended to.

5. About it with only the information seen so far.

Edit:
it wont boot, no boot leds no dram led nothin, = I went back and read that which you had written. That sounds like it could be a bad board or cpu or bad ram. You will not have boot Leds if cpu or ram is bad. You will not have dram led if the ram is bad, I don't think. Maybe you have mounted the board with a short from board to stand-off or some other place on the case.
End Edit.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers

Last edited by RGone; 07-13-12 at 11:33 AM.
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-12, 11:29 AM   #3
oldbrave
Member

 
oldbrave's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sacramento,Ca.

 
What output are you using from the Video card ?
Is it different from what you have been using to the monitor and is the proper input set on the monitor? I've don't that several times myself !

__________________
Electronic Smoke Signals From my Techno Teepee
ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v :)
Water Cooled-Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4, 9-9-9-24@1.55v
ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.6 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
SanDisk Extreme 120GB SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 2-1Tb SATA 6Gb
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU
oldbrave is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-12, 02:54 PM Thread Starter   #4
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbrave View Post
What output are you using from the Video card ?
Is it different from what you have been using to the monitor and is the proper input set on the monitor? I've don't that several times myself !
plugged in both dvi i and dvi D or g whatever it is, and yes, this monitor i use everyday and its perfectly fine, i have 3 monitors and tried them all too

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-12, 02:57 PM Thread Starter   #5
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGone View Post
1. You don't mention power supply. Do you have 8 pin CPU power connector plugged into the board from the power supply.

2. FX-6100 is supported "after" bios 0815. Is the bios on that motherboard that new or later?

3. 4xxx PCIe video card should work. If there is a place on video card for power, make sure it has power from power supply.

4. I would certainly remove all power from the motherboard by unplugging the power supply from the A/C outlet and then clear the CmOs. REapply A/C power and try and boot again if Cpu power plug to mobo has been attended to.

5. About it with only the information seen so far.

Edit:
it wont boot, no boot leds no dram led nothin, = I went back and read that which you had written. That sounds like it could be a bad board or cpu or bad ram. You will not have boot Leds if cpu or ram is bad. You will not have dram led if the ram is bad, I don't think. Maybe you have mounted the board with a short from board to stand-off or some other place on the case.
End Edit.
yes of course everything is plugged in since everything else turns on including the green light on the mobo, and the 4xxx card doesnt have no power cable, it goes right in the pci slot and the fan on it turns on also. and i did unplug everything and take out the lil cell battery to clear the mobo, and the bios i think is rlly old, never updated, but this mobo+cpu combo was bought and built by me for a friend and have been working since, and i jus bought it off of him and took it out with my own hands also. just this time with different rams and different graphic card. i can try using different set of rams tonight and see if that helps

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-12, 11:41 PM   #6
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Did you try assembling the system with the motherboard outside of the case - like on a table top - with bare minimum components? Could be you have a ground out against the case like that which could be caused by a misplaced or extra motherboard standoff.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 10:46 AM Thread Starter   #7
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by trents View Post
Did you try assembling the system with the motherboard outside of the case - like on a table top - with bare minimum components? Could be you have a ground out against the case like that which could be caused by a misplaced or extra motherboard standoff.
i dont think so but i shall check, extra ground will cause it to power on but not boot onto monitor?

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 03:38 PM Thread Starter   #8
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
i wanted to take off my cpu block today and try to remount it better since i didnt do a good job on the thermal paste, and i found 3 bent pins alone the side of the processor!!!! can i bent it back and pretend nothin happend before and itll work? or is this a goner

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 04:37 PM   #9
Steven90
Member



Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA

 
I ended up fixing a bent pin on my fx-4100, it's a pain might not always work, but I did the same thing that they did here(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdDccsbv5hA) Good luck to sir, you will need it

__________________
Intel 4770K
Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz 2x4gb
AsRock Z87 Fata1lty Professional
Corsair Obsidian 650D
Corsair RM850w
Amd Radeon HD 7970GHz (Crossfire)
Seagate 1tb HDD
Steven90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 06:11 PM Thread Starter   #10
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven90 View Post
I ended up fixing a bent pin on my fx-4100, it's a pain might not always work, but I did the same thing that they did here(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdDccsbv5hA) Good luck to sir, you will need it
well i have no broken pins, its just bent, not weirdly bent, just straight bent down a lil bit. and i also got some thermal paste on there, is the leftover thermal paste ok? cause i cant seem to have anyway of clearing it off

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 09:32 PM   #11
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
The thermal paste could cause a problem in that it could insulate or partially insulate the pin. You'll just have to try it and see. Always check for bent pins when installing a CPU. Hold it up to a sunlit window seems to work best for me in spotting bent pins.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 10:10 PM Thread Starter   #12
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
i bent the pins back, puts it back in the mobo and still wont work, i mean, if the processor is bad, wont there be a red light, or if a cpu is bad the mobo wont even turn on would it?

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 11:10 PM   #13
Steven90
Member



Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by boosteeddc View Post
yes of course everything is plugged in since everything else turns on including the green light on the mobo, and the 4xxx card doesnt have no power cable, it goes right in the pci slot and the fan on it turns on also. and i did unplug everything and take out the lil cell battery to clear the mobo, and the bios i think is rlly old, never updated, but this mobo+cpu combo was bought and built by me for a friend and have been working since, and i jus bought it off of him and took it out with my own hands also. just this time with different rams and different graphic card. i can try using different set of rams tonight and see if that helps
So correct me if I'm wrong, but now"after pulling it out" you have a different set of ram in this board? Do you know if this ram is good or even compatible with the board? you said it also turns on just nothing splashes on the screen, the led indicators on the board itself should tell you if there is a hardware problem, are any of those coming on upon start up? Also what kind of psu are you using? Is it the hx750 in your sig?

__________________
Intel 4770K
Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz 2x4gb
AsRock Z87 Fata1lty Professional
Corsair Obsidian 650D
Corsair RM850w
Amd Radeon HD 7970GHz (Crossfire)
Seagate 1tb HDD
Steven90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 10:46 AM Thread Starter   #14
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven90 View Post
So correct me if I'm wrong, but now"after pulling it out" you have a different set of ram in this board? Do you know if this ram is good or even compatible with the board? you said it also turns on just nothing splashes on the screen, the led indicators on the board itself should tell you if there is a hardware problem, are any of those coming on upon start up? Also what kind of psu are you using? Is it the hx750 in your sig?
the rams thats in there is vengeance 8gbs, proven compatible and proven works as it was on there running once upon a time and is now running in my main rig, and psu im using is a cx600, and gpu i used to boot now is my new gtx680, and no led indicator coming on as to no hardware problems. everything powers on, graphic card spins, no ram led, no boot led, nothin, but i dont have a speaker so i cant rlly hear beeps but visually everything seems fine, just dont get a signal to the monitor, and monitor is proven to work also.

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 10:52 AM   #15
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Do you have the DVI or w/e cable you are using plugged in to the GPU and not to the motherboard?

LOoks like you need bios 0815 on there for it to work with that CPU... is it on the board?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 11:04 AM Thread Starter   #16
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Do you have the DVI or w/e cable you are using plugged in to the GPU and not to the motherboard?

LOoks like you need bios 0815 on there for it to work with that CPU... is it on the board?
yes of course, this mobo doesnt have onboard graphics, but im not sure if its got that bios, but in my earlier post ive mentioned, this mobo/cpu combo was working, up and running, i was the one to buy it for a friend, built it for him and worked til he wanted a upgrade, i bought it back and took it off his system and now put it in my new built. just using a different gpu to boot

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 12:53 PM   #17
Steven90
Member



Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA

 
Does the cpu hsf turn on as well?

__________________
Intel 4770K
Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz 2x4gb
AsRock Z87 Fata1lty Professional
Corsair Obsidian 650D
Corsair RM850w
Amd Radeon HD 7970GHz (Crossfire)
Seagate 1tb HDD
Steven90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 01:14 PM Thread Starter   #18
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven90 View Post
Does the cpu hsf turn on as well?
its under water, but i did take it off lastnite and put on a cm air cooler to see if it works after i bent the pins back, yes the heatsink turns on also, but no still doesnt work

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 01:36 PM   #19
Steven90
Member



Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA

 
I'm assuming you don't have another amd cpu to test with do you? Try using just one dimm in the A2 socket and swap out with the other one if the first stick doesn't work.

__________________
Intel 4770K
Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz 2x4gb
AsRock Z87 Fata1lty Professional
Corsair Obsidian 650D
Corsair RM850w
Amd Radeon HD 7970GHz (Crossfire)
Seagate 1tb HDD
Steven90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-12, 02:02 PM Thread Starter   #20
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven90 View Post
I'm assuming you don't have another amd cpu to test with do you? Try using just one dimm in the A2 socket and swap out with the other one if the first stick doesn't work.
tried that with 4 sticks of rams already, ive done everything, this isnt my first time trying to troubleshoot things, but i guess ill go to compusa tomorrow, buy a new processor pop it in and hope it magically fixes everything!

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?