• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Upgrade time - Xeon 5650 ^^

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Humanoid1

So... been looking patiently around for Some time for a good upgrade, Was waiting for Ivy at one point...

and found locally to my house someone selling :

Xeon 5650
Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC
and 3GB RAM Tripple Channel set

for a good price - and maybe buying in as little as 10 hours time!

I believe one of these at Stock should gain me about 31k PPD going by a small review I saw?

Now obviously I am not one to leave things at Stock, but info is a little thin on the ground about these chips and I am totally new to Xeons...

So would appreciate some tips regarding the OCability of this chip - is an E5650 version of the Xeon if that changes anything - Westmere I believe - guys says it is an engineering sample...? but I know in some countries like India they sell these chips normally as the E

Kinda excited already - 1st new gear in ages, should be a Great upgrade from my Q6600 3.51GHz :D

What kinda speeds should I expect and temps while folding?

How would its power consumption compare to my current system ?

Any fast tips Appreciated!

Cheers

Power consumption may actually be lower than your current setup, amusingly enough.

Beyond that, I don't know.

31k probably isn't too far off the mark since you'd be running SMP.

Only thing I'd throw in is that 31k is only slightly above what you'll get on average with a clocked 2600k, which can be done for $400-450 for cpu, mobo, and ram with all new parts. If you're paying significantly more than that for all three, you might reconsider it from a price/performance standpoint.

The lower power consumption is always welcome :)

The 2600k is a good point also... Much easier higher clocks and more future proof for games

The price is $295,