Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Is it possible to update firmware without losing data?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-12, 05:13 PM Thread Starter   #1
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Is it possible to update firmware without losing data?


I recently bought 128GB OCZ Vertex 4 and installed Win 7 on. Currently it has 1.3 firmware and I wanted to know if there is a way to update it to 1.5 without losing the data or reinstalling the OS?
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-12, 05:20 PM   #2
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
Looks like you have to be on 1.4+ if you want a non destructive flash to 1.5. AFAIK, there's no real way around what OCZ says about it.

http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssd_too...and_Agility_4/

__________________
i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

Secondary Rig:
CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55

Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-12, 05:47 PM   #3
Dakyris
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada

 
It's not the same model, but I updated a vertex 3 max iops and 2 agility 3 without losing any data. It's not guaranteed though. Make your backups and mentally prepare yourself to reformat but it might not be necessary. You'll need to boot from another drive to be able to update it though.

__________________
Main Build
ASUS Z77 Sabertooth, i7 3770k (Oc'ed to 4.5Ghz)
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz class 8
2x EVGA GTX 670 SC+ (4GB version)
PSU Corsair HX1000 (1000W)
Blu-ray drive LITE-On iHOS104-08
HDD : 1x WD Velociraptor 10000RPM 600GB, 2x WD Black 2TB WD2002FAEX, 1x SG 3TB
SSD :
1x OCZ Vertex 3 240Gb MAX IOPS (boot drive)
1x Agility 3 360Gb, 1x Patriot Pyro 120Gb 1x OCZ Vertex 120Gb
Monitor : 2x DELL U3011 30" 2560x1600
Dakyris is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-12, 05:52 PM   #4
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakyris View Post
It's not the same model, but I updated a vertex 3 max iops and 2 agility 3 without losing any data. It's not guaranteed though. Make your backups and mentally prepare yourself to reformat but it might not be necessary. You'll need to boot from another drive to be able to update it though.
No note about destructive updates there: http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssd_tools/SandForce_Based/

__________________
i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

Secondary Rig:
CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55

Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-12, 08:50 PM   #5
Dakyris
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada

 
Yeah I didn't see the notice about the destructive update on the vertex 4 page until AFTER I posted that message. They used to have a similar warning for the vertex 3 (at least for the initial updates) but they weren't always destructive. Since they clearly mention it and the affected versions for the Vertex 4, then there doesn't seem to be any chances that the data would survive. Sorry.

__________________
Main Build
ASUS Z77 Sabertooth, i7 3770k (Oc'ed to 4.5Ghz)
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz class 8
2x EVGA GTX 670 SC+ (4GB version)
PSU Corsair HX1000 (1000W)
Blu-ray drive LITE-On iHOS104-08
HDD : 1x WD Velociraptor 10000RPM 600GB, 2x WD Black 2TB WD2002FAEX, 1x SG 3TB
SSD :
1x OCZ Vertex 3 240Gb MAX IOPS (boot drive)
1x Agility 3 360Gb, 1x Patriot Pyro 120Gb 1x OCZ Vertex 120Gb
Monitor : 2x DELL U3011 30" 2560x1600
Dakyris is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-12, 09:37 PM   #6
neo668
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hong Kong

 
Update from 1.3 to 1.4 is destructive. 1.4 to 1.5 is not. No way around it.

You can create a drive image before the update. After updating successfully you can re-image back on to the drive again. Shouldn't be difficult.

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840
CPU Cooler: Stock AMD
MB: Magic-Pro MP-BA500PRO1 (AMD 890GX+SB850)
Graphic: XFX HD6850 and MSI HD5450
Ram: ADATA DDR-3 1333 2x4GB
PSU: Antec NeoECO 520W
OS: Win 7 x64
neo668 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-12, 11:13 PM   #7
Ivy
Member

 
Ivy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Cant you just backup the OS to a external HDD and then make a system restore in term of destruction? Generally i would never trust it... firmware is sensitive matter, and in rare terms there could still be a data loss, not every drive might behave properly.

__________________
Most important values: Quality>Price/Performance>Noise Level>GFLOPS/cm3>GFLOPS/W

Screen/Audio: Panasonic Plasma @1080P + Onkyo NR609. Computer Series Gen Alpha: Every PC may act as a backup for another one.
Gamer PC: Shuttle SZ77R5 (SFF) modded/I5 3570K @4 Ghz/7870 DCII @1150/1400/Gskill 2x8 GB @1600,1.5V,9,9,9,24, 2T/120 + 240 GB OCZ Vertex 3 MI V. 2.22/750 GB WD 7500BPKT/LiteOn SH-D163B
Workstation: Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC/I7 990X (stock)/6950 FLEX 2GB (stock)/Mushkin 3x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Crucial M4 V. 0309/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD RE4/Seasonic X-850/Lian Li PC-C60/NH-C12P SE14/LiteOn IHBS112
HTPC: Asrock Extreme 4-M/I7 3930K (stock)/650Ti AMP! 2GB (stock)/Gskill 4x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Samsung 840 PRO/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD Green/Corsair 1200i/Lian Li PC-V354/Phanteks TH-TC14CS/Pioneer BDR-207EBK
Ivy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-12, 11:14 PM   #8
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
Full drive image would be the best way...what neo suggested.
Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-12, 05:18 AM   #9
txus.palacios
Premium Member #18

 
txus.palacios's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cádiz (Spain)

 
Yes, Clonezilla that and call it a day.
Look at the bright side of it, probably it gives some niiiice performance boost

__________________
Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
[ more info... ]


The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras
txus.palacios is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-12, 11:07 AM Thread Starter   #10
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by txus.palacios View Post
Yes, Clonezilla that and call it a day.
Look at the bright side of it, probably it gives some niiiice performance boost
I was just about to ask if anyone knows of a free alternative to Symantec Ghost

Also wanted to ask will I need OS installed on my second HD in order to flash new firmware on my SSD?
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-12, 11:21 AM   #11
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
OCZ has a bootable tool to update firmware, no OS needed.
Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-12, 11:27 AM Thread Starter   #12
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Is this the correct one?
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-12, 11:31 AM   #13
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
Yup, it would be the bootable Linux-based tool.
Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-12, 09:21 PM Thread Starter   #14
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
So basically I tried like 3-4 different Imaging software and none of them worked properly. Basically I was trying to drop my SSD's image onto the spare drive I had installed but it couldn't be seen for some reason. Clonezilla was the only one that recognized the drive but it couldn't recognize the size so when I tried to dump the image on it it would come back with the error after some time saying that's there's not enough space. I've tried ones with Windows GUI, USB ISO boot, Virtual Box... no luck with either. I just got frustrated so much that I just decided the hell with it and wiped the my SSD and update the firmware without imaging it.

I did see significant gain in read and write speeds upgrading from 1.3 to 1.5, just hoping that in future there aren't any more destructive firmware upgrades
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 12:26 AM   #15
Bogie
Member

 
Bogie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Priest River, Idaho

10 Year Badge
 
Not to thread crap, but were can i dl the firmware updates, i been trying to find out, i dl'd there tool box but with no os i cant get on the net, ty OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

__________________
Gigabyte Ga-970-ud3
Amd Fx-6300 20 x 201 @ 4.0-1.3 Vcore
2x8 Gigs Gskill DDR3 PC3-10700 9-9-9-24-33 1.5
Evga Heatsink Delta 120 x 25 Delta Fan
Ocz Vert4 128 gigs- 4 10,000 Rapture Drives
Corsair Hx 650w Modular-GTX 650 Ti BOOST sc
Gigabyte Ga-970-ud3
Amd Fx-6300 20 x 201 @ 4.0-1.3 Vcore
2x4 GB Crucial DDR PC3-12800 11-11-11-28-39 1.5
BigShuriken2 w/ 120x25 Delta fan
OCZ Vertex2 60 gigs-GTX 650 Ti ssc
Thermaltake TR2 600W Cable Mangement
Bogie is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 02:55 AM   #16
txus.palacios
Premium Member #18

 
txus.palacios's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cádiz (Spain)

 

__________________
Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
[ more info... ]


The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras
txus.palacios is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?