Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

LOL Silly idea

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-02, 08:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Doc_T
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2002

 
LOL Silly idea


well i tried it and it works haha, I laid a tray full of ice cubes in the bottom of my case and stood 2 80m fans on top of it blowing the coolness from the ice right at my AMd 1800+ and my North bridge
Motherboard monitor is showing 23 degrees Celcius haha i have no other cooling other than stock HSF on the northbridge and XP CPU. Now if i can just get those ice cubes to stay frozen hahaaha.Oh i have one more fan in the case its an old 100watt power supply fan i raped out of the power supply to be an exhaust fan
Doc_T is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 10:25 PM   #2
JoeCrappa
Member



Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Union City, CA

 
ocngrats... if you want you can use TEC to simulate the ice. then you'd have constant cold air. aka air chiller.

__________________
2001:
Duron 600 @ 850 w/ Pencil Mod (100x8.5)
Cheap Watercooled Kit
Abit KT7 (non-A, 100mhz FSB)
256mb Crucial PC100
Generic 300w PSU
GeForce 256

2008:
E6300 @ 3.2
8800 GTS 512
JoeCrappa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 10:26 PM   #3
Yodums
Senior Member

 
Yodums's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada

 
Oh I put a icepack in my case to see how long it would last, it stayed in there for like 1min then it melted to death lol

__________________
Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.
Yodums is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 10:39 PM   #4
Mhypertext
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Joplin Mo, Usa

10 Year Badge
 
sure that would suck to have to keep making ice just to work on your pc

"honey get that next batch of ice ready i am gettin ready to crank up the multipier"

LOL
Mhypertext is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 10:54 PM   #5
CrystalMethod
Senior Band Wagon Jumper

 
CrystalMethod's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by JoeCrappa
ocngrats... if you want you can use TEC to simulate the ice. then you'd have constant cold air. aka air chiller.
Downside to it, is that you have to find some way to keep the other side or the TEC cool.

CrystalMethod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 10:59 PM   #6
eobard
Give me a break Senior



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
What if it was mounted at the very edge of the case, so that the hot side was external? That way any fans cooling it would circulate the hot air outside the case instead of just mixing hot and cold inside the case.

__________________
Thank you Baby. I love you.
eobard is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:02 PM   #7
Darrenct
Member

 
Darrenct's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)

 
You could always put the TEC on the CPU itself... Just a thought...
Darrenct is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:06 PM   #8
eobard
Give me a break Senior



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Darrenct
You could always put the TEC on the CPU itself... Just a thought...
That wouldn't cool the air circulating in the case, just the cpu. And unless you have some thin case thing going on then the hot side would also be in the case so taking heat off the cpu would result in dumping some of it in the case. Having a TEC at case edge to cool the air in the case a few degrees isn't really a bad idea.

__________________
Thank you Baby. I love you.
eobard is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:06 PM   #9
JoeCrappa
Member



Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Union City, CA

 
well just put another HSF on the other side. the reason why people dont just put the TEC onto the CPU is that they'd have to upgrade their cooling because air cannot handle TEC's on AMD machines.and using cold air is simple and effective.

__________________
2001:
Duron 600 @ 850 w/ Pencil Mod (100x8.5)
Cheap Watercooled Kit
Abit KT7 (non-A, 100mhz FSB)
256mb Crucial PC100
Generic 300w PSU
GeForce 256

2008:
E6300 @ 3.2
8800 GTS 512
JoeCrappa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:28 PM   #10
cyber mouse45
Cyber Cheesiest Senior

 
cyber mouse45's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SC

10 Year Badge
 
I have a dumb question. what's a TEC???

__________________
Avatar: Kan Miyoun
Rank by: Shadow рс

My Heatware
cyber mouse45 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:32 PM   #11
Darrenct
Member

 
Darrenct's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)

 
I know all the implications of using a pelt, I was just being a PITA.

However, I don't think that using TEC's to cool a case would be anything near cost-effecive. Also, aircooling Athlons is not just a myth. There is a guy who's name eludes me at the moment on this site who has an 80 watt pelt on an XP with fairly good results. An alpha 8045 or a swifty both have enough power to cool up to a 120 watt pelt and possibly more.

Darrenct is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:34 PM   #12
JoeCrappa
Member



Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Union City, CA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Darrenct
I know all the implications of using a pelt, I was just being a PITA.

However, I don't think that using TEC's to cool a case would be anything near cost-effecive. Also, aircooling Athlons is not just a myth. There is a guy who's name eludes me at the moment on this site who has an 80 watt pelt on an XP with fairly good results. An alpha 8045 or a swifty both have enough power to cool up to a 120 watt pelt and possibly more.

this is true. but i was talking about regular t-birds. oh well

__________________
2001:
Duron 600 @ 850 w/ Pencil Mod (100x8.5)
Cheap Watercooled Kit
Abit KT7 (non-A, 100mhz FSB)
256mb Crucial PC100
Generic 300w PSU
GeForce 256

2008:
E6300 @ 3.2
8800 GTS 512
JoeCrappa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:39 PM   #13
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
i read somewehre that air chilling doesnt work..

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-02, 11:54 PM   #14
Darrenct
Member

 
Darrenct's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)

 
If you actually devise an effective way to chill the air, it will work very well. However, getting the air cold enough to make a big difference without condensation problems will cost you $$$
Darrenct is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?