• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Teaching an intro to encryption methods?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ctag

A friend of mine recently contacted me and asked if I would teach her how to decrypt encrypted text files, with several examples she already owned that have their corresponding originals.

She started off by giving me an MD5 hash, and I'm curious as how to go about explaining that there's no one set way to decrypt something, and that I'm mostly familiar with the long road of brute-forcing.

I think I'll start her with an MD5 library and some example hashes, then move on to manually trying to brute force the passphrases. Hopefully, she'll at least get a solid idea of both how secure, and how insecure, most encryption systems are.

I'm a high school grad, and really don't have a clue about most of this, but I do want to be helpful :p Can anyone help me get a better idea of cryptography myself?

MD5 checksums are one-way hashes, meaning you can't obtain the original information. You can find what hashes into the checksum you are looking for, but due to collisions, there is not a way to know for sure what it originally was.

If you are talking about cracking passwords, that is something completely different.

Thanks thideras!

I believe she's asking me about both.

I got several rainbow tables together and a few online 'reverse hash' sites to show that simple passwords or common words are relatively easy to find, but something more complicated could require a special program to try brute forcing or more complicated word based lookup, which could take a really long time. I'm also planning to teach her how to use salts to make the lookup nearly impossible.

As far as other password systems, I can discuss them, but I don't think I know any viable options for breaking SHA ones :rofl: