• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking intel core to duo e7500 @2,93 Ghz. Need your help guys..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nubiehack

Hello guys I'm a newb in this overclock thing, I need your help to overclock my 2,93 Ghz e7500. I currently use motherboard msi g31m3-ls v2, my vga is his 6870 iceq x 1 Gb. and I also have 4 gb of ram (ofc DDR2). 500 w 80+ psu.
Haven't buy any HSF or another fan (I like to take advice from you guys about this)

I know it's quite old for some of the part like proc, board and ram :p
I'm also a gamer, hardcore one :p . I want to play games like BF3 or guild wars 2 / diablo 3 in high settings. I need your guys recommendation about:
1. How many Ghz of processor should I increase to decrease the bottleneck (3,5 or 3,7 maybe? idk)
2. Is this board allows me to overclock my processor?
3. Is 500w enough to do something like this?
4. Last but not least, recommend me few budget but good fan for my processor to reduce the temp

I appreciate any help. Your suggestion will be very helpful to me. And I hope I can maximize my pc and take it to another level. :D

The BIOS for that board only allows increasing the FSB, changing the FSB : DRAM ratio, and changing the CAS Latency. With no voltage adjustments available, all you can do is raise the FSB while keeping the effective DRAM frequency at or near what your modules are rated at, then test for stability w/ Prime at each stage. Start w/ a FSB of 300MHz (300 x 11 = 3.3GHz), and increase in steps of 5-10MHz at a time.

just about any aftermarket cooler with heatpipes will keep that thing cool and heres a link to the oc guide for those chips if you have any more specific questions lemme know

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=515316