Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Vram and multi monitors

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-12, 12:46 PM Thread Starter   #1
Soulcatcher668

 
Soulcatcher668's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto Canada

 
Vram and multi monitors


I know that Vram does not scale in crossfire applications and for single screen applications 3gigs is enough anyway.

I run triple screens and here is what I was thinking.

I have a 7970 DCii. If I put in one of the Sapphire 7970 toxic 6gig cards and use it as the primary card, will I be able to make use of the extra Vram?

Is my logic faulty or is this a good route for triple screens?

__________________
CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
Cooler-Custom loop
Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU-Corsair HX 850
Folding User Stats
Soulcatcher668 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-12, 12:53 PM   #2
wagex
Premium Member #13


 
wagex's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: newkirk, oklahoma

 
your card is only as good as the best card from what ive heard, but afaik i was able to clock my two crossfire cards seperately from eachother and would effect performance. so it very well could work like that but i believe the memory will be what ever the lowest card is.

__________________
rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u---------------htpc-apex htpc case
2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core--------------------e6600 @ 3.0ghz
p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte g41
8gb gskill 2x4 1600 --------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC -----------2x2b ddr3 1600
xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard -----------------------------------HD 5450
corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450----------------------------------275w came with case
custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive ---------------------xigmatek durin
win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter--------------win 7 64 bit
steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
"You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum
wagex is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-12, 01:03 PM Thread Starter   #3
Soulcatcher668

 
Soulcatcher668's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto Canada

 
I thought crossfire used the Vram on the primary and ignored the crossfired card because that is where your outputs are.

hmmm

__________________
CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
Cooler-Custom loop
Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU-Corsair HX 850
Folding User Stats
Soulcatcher668 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-12, 01:06 PM   #4
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
The exact same data is put into the memory on each card, so 3GB is the most that can be used by each card because it's the max amount of one of the cards.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
wagex (08-31-12)
Old 08-31-12, 01:12 PM Thread Starter   #5
Soulcatcher668

 
Soulcatcher668's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto Canada

 
*sigh I was just reading about that. My logic is faulty.

So in order for it to work I would need two of the Toxic cards.

Thanks for the replies and the smashing of my dreams.

__________________
CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
Cooler-Custom loop
Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU-Corsair HX 850
Folding User Stats
Soulcatcher668 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-12, 01:17 PM   #6
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
For multimonitor setup like that, 3GB is fine for each card. The 6GB on the toxic is a MONUMENTAL rip off.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-12, 01:28 PM Thread Starter   #7
Soulcatcher668

 
Soulcatcher668's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto Canada

 
True..... I just though I had found a use for one.

I have been toying with the idea (read..deciding how much crap I'm willing to take from the wife.) of upgrading to the Catleap 27" monitors.

__________________
CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
Cooler-Custom loop
Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU-Corsair HX 850
Folding User Stats
Soulcatcher668 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-12, 02:06 PM   #8
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
3 Catleaps might max out 3GB of vRAM. It's close though. Hard to say as there's not much real data out there for vRAM usage.

__________________
i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

Secondary Rig:
CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55

Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-12, 02:13 PM   #9
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knufire View Post
3 Catleaps might max out 3GB of vRAM. It's close though. Hard to say as there's not much real data out there for vRAM usage.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/P...31.html#memory

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Knufire (08-31-12), Soulcatcher668 (08-31-12)
Old 08-31-12, 05:40 PM Thread Starter   #10
Soulcatcher668

 
Soulcatcher668's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto Canada

 
Very nice ..... thank you for the link.

__________________
CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
Cooler-Custom loop
Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU-Corsair HX 850
Folding User Stats
Soulcatcher668 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?