• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 2600k oc

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

newbieee

Hey all, first time here.

Basically I'm a newbie overclocker. I have an asrock p67 pro3 se and an i7 2600k. Now getting it 4.5 was easy! obviously, but when I push it to 4.6 it works for a while but then I get random BSOD's... not often, but it happens.... any higher than and I get no boot. I've searched everywhere and I can't find a good guide to get it higher. I have a havik 140 for cooling and it has never gotten close to 70.

Specs are attached

Guidance would be appreciated

Attachments

• pic3.jpg
    pic3.jpg
    41 KB · Views: 220
  • pic2.jpg
    pic2.jpg
    40.1 KB · Views: 210
  • pic1.jpg
    pic1.jpg
    146.5 KB · Views: 214
For a 4.6 - 4.8GHz clock, figure in the neighborhood of 1.35 - 1.37 Vcore depending on the quality of your chip. But seeing as how you can hit a stable 4.5GHz at 1.27V, you should be able to hit 4.6GHz easily at 1.35V or lower combined w/ VCCIO at ~1.0V and VCCSA at ~0.9V. Set the DRAM frequency, DRAM voltage, and four primary timings manually, along w/ the Command Rate if available.

This reminds me it's almost time to turn up my OC since the fall and cooler temps are almost here

redduc900:I know this is maybe not the right time and place to ask a question my friend, but i have been watching you and your post's on CPU matters.
I have a i7-2700k running @ 4.3 MHz and a vcore @ 1.328volts is there any good reason to go any higher than this? Sorry for asking you on this thread.

redduc900:I know this is maybe not the right time and place to ask a question my friend, but i have been watching you and your post's on CPU matters.