Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Asus m5a97 wont boot

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-12, 08:36 PM Thread Starter   #1
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Asus m5a97 wont boot


so i just bought this new motherboard to work with a extra fx6100 sitting around, i have everything set up on my test bench everything plugged in, when i tried to put the screw driver on the pwr pins to power it on, nothin turns on, just one of the fans connected to the powersupply molex made a lil tiny movement, but the motherboard power led is lite up green, where should i start troubleshooting this?

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 11-04-12, 08:50 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I would start by unplugging all connections on the power supply and doing the paperclip trick (green wire to any black wire) to see if the power supply turns on. If it does, hook everything back up, make sure it is secure, and try again.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-12, 09:46 PM Thread Starter   #3
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
so your saying its the power supply? well i can say for sure its good, only had it for like 2 months, powering my other rig on this test bench thats maybe used once in a week, and was working it before i put this mobo on, any other suggestions?

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-12, 10:10 PM   #4
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
He said to test the power supply not that it 'was' surely bad.

I would make sure there is no power from power supply to the mobo and then clear the CMOS and then RE-power the board and see if it will boot.

There are only two Leds for troubleshooting on that cheaper mobo and one says if the board has +5V standbye power and the other close to the ram slots are supposed to indicate if the ram is giving problems. So no real set of troubleshooting LEDS.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-12, 11:07 PM Thread Starter   #5
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
yes ive done all of that, still no luck, ive had experiences with this board, hated it back then, but bought a brand new one again cause it was cheap. being one of the weird boards without onboard graphics, lets say if the cpu was bad, would it still boot with a bad cpu or no? can anyone answer this?

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-12, 03:10 AM   #6
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Will not boot with a bad cpu.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-12, 07:51 AM   #7
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by boosteeddc View Post
yes ive done all of that, still no luck
If you have run the power supply jump test, what happened?

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-12, 02:15 AM Thread Starter   #8
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
If you have run the power supply jump test, what happened?
no im sorry i didnt do that, but this power supply was working fine with my other rig, and i tested it with the other one again, still works like it suppose to. i should feel pretty confident with the psu as of now no?

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-12, 05:38 AM   #9
Hicksimus
Member



Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada

 
As this board doesn't take advantage of standoffs along the edge it's pretty flexible. Is your memory well-seated?
Hicksimus is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-12, 03:25 PM Thread Starter   #10
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
yes just 1 stick of 4gb vengeance i took out of my main rig, as ive had experience with this board in the past, it'll boot and if memory was not well seated it'll just throw the red led dim for the rams

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-12, 03:35 PM   #11
Boulard83

 
Boulard83's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec - Canada

 
Bios update ?

CPU QVL / PCB / BIOS ver.
FX-6100(FD6100WMW6KGU),3.3GHz,6C,95W,rev.B2G,AM3+ / ALL / 0815

Sometime with AMD you need an older already supported CPU to put in the socket, then update bios to latest, then reinstall newest CPU, boot !

__________________
Boulard83 @ OvercloQc.com
BTTB
Gigabyte Z87X-OC WCed 4770k 2x8gb Ballistix 1600mhz cas8 Zotac GTX 780 Asus Xonar Pheobus
OS Toshiba Q 256gb Games 2x Agility 4 256gb Raid0 Corsair HX850 Tecnofront HWD BenchTable Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

HTPC Gigabyte H77m-D3H G2020 NT-06 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz Asus GTX 650 TI SB Recon3D
X25-m 80gb Enermax 550w Lian Li PC-C60B

Server Asus Z77m PRO 2500K NH-C12P 4x4gb G.Skill Ares 1600mhz
Agility 4 128gb Corsair CX430M 2X 1TB Black 1x 2TB green

KatPat Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 FX-8320 PH-TC14CS 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz GTS 450 + Accelero L2 Plus
Samsung Evo 120gb Corsair HX750 Bitfenix Survivor White Asus VE247H
Boulard83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-12, 10:50 PM   #12
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulard83 View Post
Bios update ?

CPU QVL / PCB / BIOS ver.
FX-6100(FD6100WMW6KGU),3.3GHz,6C,95W,rev.B2G,AM3+ / ALL / 0815

Sometime with AMD you need an older already supported CPU to put in the socket, then update bios to latest, then reinstall newest CPU, boot !
You beat met to it.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-12, 11:35 PM Thread Starter   #13
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
well ive had this fx6100 paired with the same mobo before and worked like a charm, but i guess its different for every one then? so now id have to get my hands on a older amd cpu......

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-12, 02:35 PM   #14
caddi daddi
Godzilla to ant hills

 
caddi daddi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
what bios version do you have, we can go look at the asus site and see if you have the one you need.
It looks like you need 810 or above.
caddi daddi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-12, 03:02 PM   #15
Hicksimus
Member



Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada

 
From previous experiences I've only ever seen lack of BIOS support result in failure to POST not failure to remain on but who knows .
Hicksimus is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-12, 04:56 PM Thread Starter   #16
boosteeddc
Member

 
boosteeddc's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: winter garden FL

 
well it wont boot, so i cant even see which bio its got, but ive had this same exact board before with this cpu.. argh, and i lost my receipt, and i bought it from POS customer service compusa.

__________________
case: corsair 800D
mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
psu: corsair hx750
HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
scythe 6 channel fan controller
boosteeddc is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?