• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help a newbie - new build ~1100 dollars

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zailiner

Hey there everyone, I hope your day's been pleasant so far,

I've decided to build a new computer due to my old one being incredibly outdated, and since I'm a total noob, I registered on this forum to get some advice and suggestions for 2 of my possible builds. I'd like to get some suggestions on which one is better and such.

I'm still a student, so I'm on a rather loose budget of around 1100, I'm hoping to keep the price as low as possible though. :rolleyes:

Another note is that, I'd rather not perform overclocking on my computer, since I heard that

So without further ado, here are my builds:
(Sorry for the inconsistent formats :p )

#1:
CPU: Intel Core i5-3470 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.00 @ PCCaseGear)

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H77M-D3H Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($85.00 @ PCCaseGear)

Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($46.00 @ PCCaseGear)

Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($89.00 @ PCCaseGear)

And

Samsung 830 Series 128GB ($95.00 @ PCCaseGear)

Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 7870 2GB Video Card ($250.00 @ PCCaseGear)

Case: Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced NVIDIA Edition ATX Mid Tower Case ($119.00 @ PCCaseGear)
I realize this case might be too expensive, but I'd like to stick to it.

Power Supply: Antec High Current Gamer 520W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($83.00 @ PCCaseGear)

Monitor: Samsung S23B300B 60Hz 23.0" Monitor ($149.00 @ PCCaseGear)

#2:
Case:
CoolerMaster CM 690 II Advanced - 109.00 AUD
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.ph [...] s_id=18722
Heard A LOT of good things about this baby.

Motherboard:
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard - 139.00 AUD