Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

AdTrap

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-12, 08:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
SMOKEU
Member



Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NZ

 
AdTrap


Anyone else here heard of this?

__________________
MY RIG:
HP 8200 Elite USDT
i5 2400S
4GB DDR3 SODIMM
Intel HD2000 graphics
135W external PSU
160GB 2.5" HDD
Debian 7 KDE
SMOKEU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-12, 09:36 PM   #2
trekky
Member

 
trekky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MI

 
i use simple adblockworks great
have not tryed this

__________________
current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

"Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras
trekky is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 01:03 AM   #3
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

 
Wouldn't is be cheaper overall to just have a router you can run scripts and cronjobs on?
I have an old retired (DD)WRT54GS v.1 that automatically blocked ads. While that device is long in the tooth now. It blocked ads very effectively. Any router that has cron enabled/scripting. Can pretty much do what that does on one device. Having a routing appliance with over 64Megs of flash and 400Mhz+ is pretty common now.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Ad_blocking
That is one example. It'll port over to most/**any of the *.wrt forks.

**You might be limited by how much storage memory you have available. It'll work, but in a limited fashion on hobbled devices.

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus







Enablingwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 03:09 AM   #4
soulfly1448
Member

 
soulfly1448's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
I use a hosts file from here that effectively blocks just about every ad including youtube ads. That in combination with Noscript for Firefox pretty much ensures I never see an ad, ever. Granted it requires updating the host file occasionally but it's free, doesn't require any router fun and is something I have no problem doing for the two computers I use to view media online.

Setting up a router with DDWRT to block ads does pretty much the same thing for your household that the adtrap thing would do with the added benefit of not adding another device to your network. Going the router method is quite easy as is the hosts file method, saves some money and is available now.

__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.6GHz
ASRock Z68 Extreme4
2 x 4GB g.skill Sniper 1866
Gigabyte GTX770 Windforce


Ever heard of Google? Try their fantastic "Search" option!
"A positive attitude will not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort." --- Herm Albright
soulfly1448 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 09:36 AM   #5
txus.palacios
Premium Member #18

 
txus.palacios's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cádiz (Spain)

 
That is a glorified router. Just get a powerful DD-WRT (one of ASUS', they're nice). Or, even better, get a pf box.

__________________
Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
[ more info... ]


The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras
txus.palacios is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 12:36 PM Thread Starter   #6
SMOKEU
Member



Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NZ

 
I've looked at DD-WRT supported routers but I will also need an ADSL modem, and I can't find any place to buy a decent ADSL modem in this country (they only place to get them are from ISPs, and they give out cheap crappy ones that are very prone to failure), so I'm stuck with an all in one modem/router unit. I also can't find any all in one unit in this country that supports DD-WRT.

__________________
MY RIG:
HP 8200 Elite USDT
i5 2400S
4GB DDR3 SODIMM
Intel HD2000 graphics
135W external PSU
160GB 2.5" HDD
Debian 7 KDE
SMOKEU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 01:14 PM   #7
txus.palacios
Premium Member #18

 
txus.palacios's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cádiz (Spain)

 
Because DD-WRT supports no AIO system. Excluding one from Buffalo IIRC.

Look on eBay.

__________________
Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
[ more info... ]


The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras
txus.palacios is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 01:17 PM   #8
Insane Scyth
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Often you change the settings on the router/modem combo to disable the routing features. You can then connect your own router to the modem. I did that with the combo unit Time Warner gave me as I was having a lot of issues with a slow network. Using my own router fixed it.

__________________
Intel i7 920 @ 4.0 / Asus Sabertooth
XFX R290 GPU / 6 GB GSkill DDR3 1600
HAF 932 / Corsair AX750
Rosetta@home User: Jackson
Insane Scyth is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 01:26 PM   #9
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Scyth View Post
Often you change the settings on the router/modem combo to disable the routing features. You can then connect your own router to the modem. I did that with the combo unit Time Warner gave me as I was having a lot of issues with a slow network. Using my own router fixed it.

I have a TWC 'approved' Motorola combo modem.
NAPT mode to disabled, and to use my own appliance for DHCP. I went to the DHCP and set it to no.

Setting the device to disabled NAPT makes it a dumb modem. Then setting it to no DHCP, makes it where your device will hand out IP leases.

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus







Enablingwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-12, 01:38 PM   #10
jazon1
Member

 
jazon1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA

 
+1 to using your hosts file to block adds i have been doing it for years, i use a combination of a pre made one from HERE then whenever i find a new annoying ad i simply add it to the list, you will be amazed at how many ad companys there are to ad to the list.

while i dont block all ads because i believe the owners of the web site's have a right to be able to make some money from ads,i dont agree they should allow ads that are obtrusive,redirect you automatically,pester you, or work in some other malicious manner and there for i block them.

__________________
CPU----Intel i7 3820 (@4.3)
Cooler-Corsair H100 W/Spectre pro fans
Case---TT Armor Revo
Psu----Corsair AX1200
Mobo---ASUS Sabertooth X79
Ram----32 Gigs Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Sound--Creative Recon3D Fatal1ty
Hdd----Mushkin Chronos 120GB SSD + 8TB External
Bluray-LG 3D 12x W/MDISC
Video--Evga GTX 680 SC Signature
Monitor-Samsung 46"3D LED-UN46C8000XF
OS-----Windows 7 x64 Ult
jazon1 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?