• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Q6600 with DDR3 1333MHz two types Dual Channel?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

spiritfly

Hi, I'm OC noob, but I pretty much understand hardware. This is my first time to try an overclock.

Specs:

Asus P5P43TD (two slots for DDR3 in dual channel up to 1600)
Intel Q6600 (2.4Ghz)
2 x Corsair 2GB VS2GB1333D3 in A1 and B1
2 x Corsair CM3x2048-1333C9CHX in A2 and B2

My goal was to use the full potential of my memory by clocking it to 1333 MHz. By default the system has it at 1066 MHz, because the CPU is 2.4 GHz, I think I pretty much understand why. So I need to set the FSB at 333 and CPU at 3.0GHz so I can have my memory at 1333.

So I've read this guide and I've set the following:

CPU Rating: 9
FSB: 333 MHz
FSB NB: 333 MHz
PCI: 100 MHz
DRAM Frequency: 1333 MHz
DRAM Timing Control: 9-9-9-24

That's pretty much what I changed, everything else I left to auto. The PC booted, windows worked normal and it seemed like the OC was successful. However when I ran CPU-Z to check if everything is normal the first pair of my modules (the VS2GB1333D3) ran perfectly on 1333MHz. The second pair (CM3x2048-1333C9CHX) however still ran at 533MHz or 1066. I switched their places with the other pair from A2/B2 to A1/B1 and again the clock on the same two modules was 533MHz :eek:

Now I'm confused. What's wrong with the Corsair CM3x2048-1333C9CHX so they can't be clocked to 1333MHz?
1. How can it run like this? One dual channel on 667, the other 533?
2. Why won't this memory get clocked to 667 ?? It has almost identical specs as the other pair.

I'm puzzled here. What seems to be the problem??

Any recommendations/suggestions would be highly appreciated!

Are you looking at the SPD tab or the Memory tab in CPUz?