• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Athlon 1.4

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jflowers

Hi all, I am new to this so bare with me.
I have an HP Pavillion 7920 (900 Duron) and have just fitted a 1.4 Athlon. In sys info it shows as 1.05 Athlon, it also shows as 1.05 in sisoftsandra. Does anyone know if I need to make any changes to the motherboard? I got the processor for free so aint really bothered, but it would be nice if I could get it running at its full speed.

Thanks
Jon

Hi Jon.

Do you know what kind of Mobo is in your system?

If so, do you know if it is possible to change your multiplier/bus settings in the bios. I'm not familiar with hp machines, but would be glad to help if I can.

Go into your bios and try to find your multiplier and bus speeds and get that info back to us.

Rob

Welcome To The Forums

.....and to the addiction:eek:

Do you know how to get in the BIOS? Try pressing Del, not really sure on branded PCs, while the computer is trying to post & look for the parameter that can change the CPU speed & change it to 1.4GHz. It should look like;

10.5 X 133 Or something like that & that's if your MoBo supports a 133MHz/266FSB.

14 X 100 If your MoBo only supports a 100MHz/200FSB.

Multiplier = 10.5
FSB = 133

Multiplier X FSB = Clockspeed.

If none of these are available then you will need to FLASH the BIOS. It looks like you are only getting a 10.5 X 100 so it might not support a 133MHz/266FSB.

Do yourself a favor & mouse over the colored letters:cool:

I knew the name of the chipset earlier, but cant find it now. I know its a VIA and it ends with 133, but thats it. I was hoping one of you knew the comp I was talking about.
Jon

too sonny