Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

H100i - Do I have to use Corsair Link?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-12, 07:49 PM Thread Starter   #1
rfkrocktk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2012

 
H100i - Do I have to use Corsair Link?


I have a Corsair H100 and I just bought a H100i since I was having issues with my H100. I mainly run Linux as my desktop operating system, booting into Windows for gaming or video editing. I've got an overclocked system, so I'm sure that I'll actually be using the capabilities of the cooler, but I don't know if Corsair Link is required to run the fans and the pump. Does anyone know if the software is required to run? With the H100, obviously, it isn't required and works fine without it.
rfkrocktk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-12, 07:59 PM   #2
bmwbaxter
Premium Member #5



 
bmwbaxter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
It is only required for creating custom fan and pump profiles IIRC.
bmwbaxter is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-12, 08:50 PM Thread Starter   #3
rfkrocktk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwbaxter View Post
It is only required for creating custom fan and pump profiles IIRC.
Are these profiles stored and loaded from firmware or is it entirely in software? Just curious.
rfkrocktk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-12, 09:03 PM   #4
bmwbaxter
Premium Member #5



 
bmwbaxter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfkrocktk View Post
Are these profiles stored and loaded from firmware or is it entirely in software? Just curious.
I believe it is entirely software, so in Linux I don't think you will have access to them. The standard 3 settings on the pump should still work though.

__________________
SSD > PCMark 05
freeagent - Torture is watching all these 2600k's kicking my rig in the mosfets
bmwbaxter is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 10:48 PM   #5
shadowdr
Senior Member

 
shadowdr's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: nashville, tennesse U.S.A.

10 Year Badge
 
You don't have to use the software but it works pretty good. It ran fine after install before finding the software that isn't even included. For me the software is better because I can run it silent and without it it runs at a higher setting and louder. Even at silent it outperforms the H100 at high settings so keep that in mind.

__________________
Asus M4A89TD Pro USB3
AMD Phenom II x4 975BE @4.1
2x2 gig Patriot 2x4 gig Ripjaws@ 8-8-8-24
2x 128 Crucial M4 SSD for OS and one for Programs
2x 640 WD Blacks for storage
Rosewill Blackhawk case and Antec 750 New PS
Corsair H100I cooling
XFX 290
JVC 32 inch LCD TV
Windows 7 Pro X64

Heat
shadowdr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 10:50 PM Thread Starter   #6
rfkrocktk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowdr View Post
You don't have to use the software but it works pretty good. It ran fine after install before finding the software that isn't even included. For me the software is better because I can run it silent and without it it runs at a higher setting and louder. Even at silent it outperforms the H100 at high settings so keep that in mind.
Awesome to know, I was hoping for that. If I set it to a different profile, I wonder if it'll persist after boot without the software being required.

Additionally, I know that they provide their own thermal paste, but has anyone had any better results with custom paste? I bought me some Arctic MX-4 and am thinking of swapping out the provided paste for the Arctic stuff. Good idea? Bad idea?
rfkrocktk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 11:14 PM   #7
gigabit
Member

 
gigabit's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Claymont Delaware 19703

 
I put MX-4 on my H80 because i wasnt happy with my temps. I got about a 2c to 3c temp drop.
I have the H80i now and I'm using the stock paste ATM.I'm gonna put the MX- 4 on it.I hope I get similar results
gigabit is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 11:17 PM Thread Starter   #8
rfkrocktk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigabit View Post
I put MX-4 on my H80 because i wasnt happy with my temps. I got about a 2c to 3c temp drop.
I have the H80i now and I'm using the stock paste ATM.I'm gonna put the MX- 4 on it.I hope I get similar results
Let me know if you see a similar difference. Somehow, I just don't think Corsair's paste will fare as well as Arctic MX-4. Did you notice a significant temp-drop migrating to the H80i?
rfkrocktk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 11:18 PM   #9
bmwbaxter
Premium Member #5



 
bmwbaxter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
The stock paste on the H100 was decent. But after market stuff is usually better, just a bit more work.
bmwbaxter is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 11:20 PM Thread Starter   #10
rfkrocktk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2012

 
In the past, I've cleaned off thermal paste with 95% isopropyl alcohol and lint-free glasses cleaning cloths. Any better recommendations, or should that get the job done?
rfkrocktk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 11:37 PM   #11
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
That'll be fine. Mostly you just don't want any hairs or chunks of things.
Link wise someone needs to snoop on the software and write a linux driver, probably doable.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-12, 11:42 PM Thread Starter   #12
rfkrocktk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2012

 
As long as the H100i runs while running in Linux, I'm satisfied. If not, then I might have to get my hands dirty and write a driver. Hopefully, I won't have to.

Anyone willing to boot to an Ubuntu Live CD while running one of 'em and see if your profile sticks? ie: set it it to the lowest setting, boot to the live CD, verify that it "sticks," then set it to high, boot to live CD, verify, etc.
rfkrocktk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-01-13, 08:38 AM   #13
bmwbaxter
Premium Member #5



 
bmwbaxter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfkrocktk View Post
As long as the H100i runs while running in Linux, I'm satisfied.
It will still run that is for sure. Just any profile you create in widows via corsair link will not.
bmwbaxter is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-05-14, 03:33 PM   #14
volmok
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2014

 
For those looking for Linux tools to control Corsair H100i you can visit: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthre...978#post695978

I added a tool there that may help you achieve a basic control of the cooler.

V.
volmok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-14, 09:10 AM   #15
monkeyclaw
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2014

 
Are there any software alternatives for windows (specifically windows 7)? I have Corsair Link for my power supply, an AX860i. I also have software for my water cooler, a Kraken X60. Unfortunately, they are not compatible if both are installed.

Short reason, I need to have both pieces of software running and compatible at the same time.

Long reason: This wouldn't be a problem at all, but my AX860i also has a strange tendency to click every 6-10 seconds when it is set to the default fan mode, which is fanless at low loads/idle, but sends a PWM pulse intermitently to the fan that makes it twitch and click. So I have to run the Corsair Link software to set the fan to a fixed, silent speed. However, this makes it so I can't control the more important water cooling fans.

So, any alternatives?
monkeyclaw is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?