Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

speaker wire alternative?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-02, 05:51 PM Thread Starter   #1
Default
Disabled

 
Default's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: CANADA!!

 
speaker wire alternative?


can solid house wireing be suplemented for good quality speaker wire? Would it almost be as good a coaxial?
Default is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-02, 07:34 PM Thread Starter   #2
Default
Disabled

 
Default's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: CANADA!!

 
anyone?
Default is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-02, 07:43 PM   #3
DeRose306
Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Clinton, AR

 
I've never tried solid core wiring for speaker wire, don't know if you would have a prob with interference, if I had a choice I'd rather go with a stranded core coaxial.

My 2cents
DeRose306 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-02, 08:04 PM   #4
Wicked Klown
Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior

 
Wicked Klown's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sheboygan, Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Don't use solid wire. The current runs on the outsides of the wires the more wires the more flow. Found that out while doing DB drag racing.

__________________
Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

HEAT

"Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus
Wicked Klown is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-02, 10:01 PM Thread Starter   #5
Default
Disabled

 
Default's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: CANADA!!

 
in that case i think i'll get some thick multi-strand, but before i do would having more current be better for quality or volume? would there be an advantage to one big thick wire? if so what?
Default is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-02, 11:22 PM   #6
shill82
Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
More current is better for quality as well as volume. The more current getting to a speaker makes it so you can play it louder obviously, but it also makes a more reliable power source so when you are playing it loud it won't destort. The best example I can think of is with a subwoofer in a car. If you have an amp that doesn't supply all the power the bus demands at a certain volume then the sub will start to distort because it isn't getting reliable enough power sent to it.

Shawn

__________________
E5300 @ 3450 266X13
4GB PC1066
Geforce 9400GT
Nec 3520 DVD Burner
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Windows 7 Home Premium


Heatware
shill82 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 12:18 AM   #7
Overload
Member

 
Overload's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000

 
I've heard of people using that thick (usually orange) extension cord stuff found at hardware stores for long speaker wire runs. i dont know if thats what you had in mind but its something to look into.

__________________
Mobile Athlon XP 2600+
Thermalright SLK-900A w/vantec tornado @5v
Abit NF7-S v2
PQI PC3200 2x256
Western Digital 120Gb 8Mb cache
ATI 9800SE
NEC 2500
Toshiba SDM_1212 DVD<- Finally died, she was a faithful beasts:p... Now back from the dead in another box thanks to an "organ donor"!!!
Overload is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 12:36 AM   #8
Monaco
Member

 
Monaco's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denver, Colorado

 
you can use whatever kind of wire you want for speaker wire pretty much.

For a while I was using 2awg power cable from my amp to my subs, it was all I had. Didn't sound too good but worked fine.

Big thick wire for speakers is only good up to a certain point, past there the internal resistance of the wire itself starts to mess with you. Electrically, its fine, but acoustically it ain't too good.

If you need to do a long run (100 foot +) go to a good stereo place, they will have tons of advice to give you. They have special types of cable for really long runs. If you are over 250 foot you get to use those cool +17v convertors
Monaco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 01:19 AM   #9
CrystalMethod
Senior Band Wagon Jumper

 
CrystalMethod's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
The only problem I can think of offhand not to use the stuff is RF interference. Regular house wire is really suseptible(<-sp?) to RF noise.

CrystalMethod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 03:37 AM   #10
Arctic
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
you can use house hold wires.. you just have to make sure that the wires inside are stranded and not 1 whole piece...I use them as extensions to put my Creative LAbs DTT3500 around the top corners of my room.
Arctic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 12:37 PM   #11
Ugmore Baggage
Member

 
Ugmore Baggage's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
Get the radio shack version of monster cable. Not exactly cheap, but it won't put you in the poorhouse and it should last forever.

Cal me crazy but I'd swear I noticed a difference.
Ugmore Baggage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 04:34 PM Thread Starter   #12
Default
Disabled

 
Default's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: CANADA!!

 
thanx all here is what i finaly got. Went down to the local HW store and got some 50Feet of 99.9% pure copper speaker wire that is 99.9% oxygen free. sounds great with gold solder on all the connects
Default is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 04:36 PM Thread Starter   #13
Default
Disabled

 
Default's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: CANADA!!

 
even the radio sounds good in 5.1 now
Default is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-02, 05:14 PM   #14
Wicked Klown
Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior

 
Wicked Klown's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sheboygan, Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Also if your running with two of your speakers behind you. You'll want to use a bigger awg wire then the ones to the front speakers.

__________________
Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

HEAT

"Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus
Wicked Klown is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?