Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

How do I overclock the FX-6300?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-13, 10:45 PM Thread Starter   #1
Skianator
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2013

 
How do I overclock the FX-6300?


Hey, so I got a Biostar TA990FXE board. This was my first Boistar product. I decided to try this company since ABIT went out of business, and they were my first pick. I wanted to build a cost effective rig, so I could play BF3 with some respectable frame rates. I'm very happy with this board, it does what its supposed to and it does it well, plenty of features also. Anyways, I am using an AMD FX-6300 chip, 3.5 GHz, 4.1 Turbo. I have never overclocked a chip with a turbo feature. My question is, do I turn the turbo off, and then overclock it to whatever speed I want beyond 4.1 GHz? I'm not really interested in going much beyond 4.1 GHz, 4.5 GHz - 4.6 GHz would be ideal. My main goal is to get the RAM up to 2133 MHz, currently its at 1866 MHz, via the BIOS setting. So, If I turn off the turbo I'll be at 3.5 GHz, if I raise this, Ill hit 2133 MHz before I'm even running at 4.1 GHz on the CPU, and I want to be at 4.1 GHz at least. Does raising the multiplier affect RAM speed, or is RAM affected by FSB frequency only? If the multiplier does not affect RAM speed I could get the CPU up to 4.1 GHz and then take the ram up from there with the FSB numbers. How do I proceed? Do I have to lower the RAM speed below 1866 MHz and take the whole thing up from there, or can I use the multiplier to get the CPU up to 4.1 GHz and then use the FSB speed to raise the RAM speed?
Skianator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 10:51 PM   #2
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
You really need to get up to speed on articles already written about the questions you ask. No sense in us typing all that surrounding data about FX processors that is already in text form.

Bulldozer OC Guide!
Everything you need to overclock bulldozer properly.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 10:52 PM   #3
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
I wouldn't expect too much in the way of overclocking as that motherboard only has 4+1 power phase components.

What CPU cooler are you using? Having good cooling is critical to overclocking. With that CPU you should not attempt overclocking until you have good aftermarket cooling in place.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 10:52 PM   #4
LoganG

 
LoganG's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NM, USA

 
Well, as I am sure others will tell you, that board only has a 4+1 phase count and therefore may not be the best for overclocking. Answering your question though, yes if you are going to overclock you should turn off the turbo function and while first getting started you should also turn off all of the other power saving features such as cool & quiet. The multiplier increases will not affect the Ram speeds but you are correct that FSB adjustments will. Are you using a stock heatsink for the processor? If so that, along with your motherboard choice, may be a limiting factor in the success or failure of any overclocks as these processors run hot, due to increased voltages needed for a stable overclock. Three programs you should download are CPU-Z, HWMonitor, and Prime95. Go ahead and do a prime95 blend test with everything stock before you start overclock just to ensure everything is running fine before you start, otherwise you may be chasing problems that were there to begin with.

Dang, beat me to it.

__________________
Biostar TA970EX | AMD Fx-6100 @ 4000 MHz | Cooler Master 212 | 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600 | Sapphire 7870 | 120GB SanDisk Extreme SSD | 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD | 640GB Hitachi HDD

MSI 990FXA-GD65V2 | AMD FX-8320 @ 4200MHz | Corsair H100i | 8GB Patriot Viper 3 1866 | XFX 7950 | 120GB Kingston HyperX SSD | 240GB PNY SSD | 1TB Seagate Barracuda HDD
LoganG is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 10:59 PM Thread Starter   #5
Skianator
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2013

 
I'll be using a Cooler Master TX3.
Skianator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 11:02 PM Thread Starter   #6
Skianator
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2013

 
Thanks for the info. Only 4+1 phase count, well, like I said I'm not looking for a hardcore overclock with this, I only want to get my RAM up to 2133, it should be able to do that. Biostar says the board can do 2200 MHz.
Skianator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 11:04 PM   #7
LoganG

 
LoganG's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NM, USA

 
that is an okay cooler, though you still probably shouldn't expect any great overclocks. Once you get those three programs installed go ahead and see what kind of temperatures you are getting. Increasing the FSB will increase your RAM and CPU speeds, so getting your CPU to 4.1 then increasing your FSB will result in an overclock > 4.1

__________________
Biostar TA970EX | AMD Fx-6100 @ 4000 MHz | Cooler Master 212 | 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600 | Sapphire 7870 | 120GB SanDisk Extreme SSD | 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD | 640GB Hitachi HDD

MSI 990FXA-GD65V2 | AMD FX-8320 @ 4200MHz | Corsair H100i | 8GB Patriot Viper 3 1866 | XFX 7950 | 120GB Kingston HyperX SSD | 240GB PNY SSD | 1TB Seagate Barracuda HDD
LoganG is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 11:05 PM   #8
LoganG

 
LoganG's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NM, USA

 
what ram do you have?
Link to product page?
Also post screen caps of CPU-Z ram tab and SPD tab

__________________
Biostar TA970EX | AMD Fx-6100 @ 4000 MHz | Cooler Master 212 | 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600 | Sapphire 7870 | 120GB SanDisk Extreme SSD | 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD | 640GB Hitachi HDD

MSI 990FXA-GD65V2 | AMD FX-8320 @ 4200MHz | Corsair H100i | 8GB Patriot Viper 3 1866 | XFX 7950 | 120GB Kingston HyperX SSD | 240GB PNY SSD | 1TB Seagate Barracuda HDD
LoganG is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 11:07 PM   #9
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
A CM Hyper TX3? Great little cooler for Athlon IIs and Semprons but it won't get you very far with the FX-6300.

The first thing to do is to check CPU socket temps and package temps under full load at stock frequencies and voltages. To that end, please download and install these two programs: Prime95 and HWMonitor.

When you have done that, open HWMonitor on the desktop. Then run the Prime95 "blend" stress test (choose "just stress testing" the first time you use the program) for 20 miniutes. Before you close HWMonitor, capture it's image to disc and directly attach the image (no linked to a web site). Here's how to do that:

To attach a pic with a post, first crop and save the pic to disc. Snipping Tool in Windows Accessories is great for this. Then click on Go Advanced at the bottom of any new post window. When the advanced post window appears, click on the little paperclip tool at the top. This will load the file browser/up-link tool and the rest will be obvious. You may attach up to three images at a time and if you need to attach more, save the post, reopen it and repeat the process outlined.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 11:10 PM   #10
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skianator View Post
Thanks for the info. Only 4+1 phase count, well, like I said I'm not looking for a hardcore overclock with this, I only want to get my RAM up to 2133, it should be able to do that. Biostar says the board can do 2200 MHz.
The motherboard is not the only factor in how fast you can run the ram. The other major factor is the ability of the IMC (integrated memory controller) on the CPU die. If the IMC is not stout enough to handle a high ram frequency it will make no difference if the motherboard will handle it.

The FX-CPUs are made to work best with 1866 mhz ram. 2133 is probably asking too much of the IMC.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 11:15 PM Thread Starter   #11
Skianator
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2013

 
Excellent! That's the answer I was looking for. The Fan is still in the mail, so Ill have to wait on that. The ram is Corsair DDR3 2133. Here is the link.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233276
Skianator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-13, 11:17 PM Thread Starter   #12
Skianator
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2013

 
Interesting. Thank you everybody for your input. This will get me going, now I just have to wait for the fan. It will be interesting to see what this thing can do. I should also get a benchmarking program to see if bumping up the RAM will do anything. I'm out for now, later.
Skianator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-13, 12:02 AM   #13
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by trents View Post

The FX-CPUs are made to work best with 1866 mhz ram. 2133 is probably asking too much of the IMC.
The FX cups are rated to run two sticks at DDR1866. That is the spec from AMD.

FX-4170 on Sabertooth 990FX runs G Skill DDR2133 with ease.

FX-8120 on CHV runs G Skill DDR2133 with ease.

FX-8350 on CHV runs G Skill DDR2133 with ease.

FX-8350 on Asrock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional runs G Skill DDR2133 with ease.

FX-6300 on CHV runs G Skill DDR2133 with ease.

None of those boards being R1.0 boards have a DDR2133 menu setting so the FSB must be increased to 230 to get DDR2140.
RGone...

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-13, 05:49 AM   #14
caddi daddi
Godzilla to ant hills

 
caddi daddi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012

 
I am running the 6300 cpu and for gaming it really only needs to be clocked to 4.2-4.4
the fast ram is a real boost for it. over 4.2-4.4 the vcore gets high and it makes a lot of heat for little gain.
1866 ram is the real kicker and 2133 is better.
with the 2133 ram and just stock timings with a low end video card the detail improved and it left no artifacts.
I use hd7770 cards.
caddi daddi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
RGone (03-17-13)
Old 03-17-13, 07:04 PM   #15
Mandrake4565
Member

 
Mandrake4565's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New City, NY.

 
I am interested to see how far this board will O/C the 6300.

__________________
Mountain Mods U2-UFO Duality/ Asus Crosshair V Formula----------Silverstone TJ07/ Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
Amd FX 8350 @ 4.7/ Msi GTX 780 Lightning-----------------------------Intel I7-4770K/ Msi GTX 580 Lightning
OCZ Vertex 4 128g SSD/ Windows 7 64bit------------------------------Samsung Evo SSD/ Windows 7
G-Skill Sniper X 4g @ 1866/ Cooler Master SP 1000-------------------G-Skill Ripjaw 2133/ Seasonic X-650w
EK Supreme HF/ Thermochill PA 120.3------------------------------------Custom Benching Loop
Dual Laing D5 Vario/ Koolance Rp-452X2
BitFenix Spectre Pro 6 X 120mm
Mandrake4565 is online now Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-13, 05:26 AM   #16
mjrhealth
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
Should do 4.5 Gig @ around 1.425 V. You may have to up the FSB i had to , to go above4.4

__________________
Intel 4770K, Gigabyte GAZ87X-UD3H. NH-D14 Cooler, 8 Gig DDRR3 Cas 9 RAM.
Stock no overclock yet, still reading
Nvidia GTX680 Video
mjrhealth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-13, 05:32 AM   #17
LoganG

 
LoganG's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NM, USA

 
your making that assumption based off of....? a completely different setup's ability to do it?

__________________
Biostar TA970EX | AMD Fx-6100 @ 4000 MHz | Cooler Master 212 | 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600 | Sapphire 7870 | 120GB SanDisk Extreme SSD | 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD | 640GB Hitachi HDD

MSI 990FXA-GD65V2 | AMD FX-8320 @ 4200MHz | Corsair H100i | 8GB Patriot Viper 3 1866 | XFX 7950 | 120GB Kingston HyperX SSD | 240GB PNY SSD | 1TB Seagate Barracuda HDD
LoganG is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-13, 07:18 AM   #18
Johan45
Senior Member

 
Johan45's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ontario,Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoganG View Post
your making that assumption based off of....? a completely different setup's ability to do it?

__________________
CPU : AMD FX 8350, FX 9370,FX-6350 Mobo : ASUS CHV FORMULA Z ///// Intel i7 4770k / ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO
Cooler :Koolance 380A/Phobya Supernova 1260//////////////////////////// Shared rad and Koolance 380i
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133//////////////////////////////////////////////G.Skill Fare/Pi 2200 CL9
Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280 //////////////////////////////ASUS DCUII GTX770
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb
OS : Win7 Pro
Case : Banchetto 101
PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum
Monitor : Asus 27"

HTPC : FX-6350 , CM V-8 , ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win8 Pro
Johan45 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?