• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A7V266-E RAID question-Plz help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

WarriorII

Moderator #666
Hey All,
I need to know if I HAVE to use Raid on this mobo?
I mean, do I have to use 2 HDD's or can I use just 1?
I have 1 20 gig HHD right now and lack of funds prevents me from another. Can I just use the 1?
I am new to this RAID world stuff.
Any info would be GREATLY appreciated.

It's a version 2.0 mobo

:cool:

Thanks.

You don't have to use RAID. That mobo (like it's older brother, the A7V133) have connections for IDE (standard harddrives) and connections for ATA/RAID.

that's THE best explanation I've heard yet !

Thanks, I have an ATA 100 maxtor. Gonna sit down with the book tonight.

:cool:

sorry for sounding dumb but what is RAID exactly I know it has something to do with high rate data transfer. It's one of those few things on a MOBO i havent fully figured out yet.

Im thinking of putting a second HDD in for music etc. would this RAID help me or be necessary to do this?

dreamtfk said:
sorry for sounding dumb but what is RAID exactly I know it has something to do with high rate data transfer. It's one of those few things on a MOBO i havent fully figured out yet.

Im thinking of putting a second HDD in for music etc. would this RAID help me or be necessary to do this?

That's not a dumb question. RAID is an acronym for Redundant Array of Independant Disks. In its most basic form, its taking a whole bunch of hard drives and mashing them together, so your OS thinks its one BIG hard drive. There are several flavours of RAID, but the most common are:

RAID-0: Fast r/w. No redundancy. AKA Striping

RAID-1: Fast r slow w. AKA Mirroring. Takes all data from disk one and copies it to disk 2, so if disk 1 dies, disk 2 can take over