• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Speed up POST time for MSI 990FXA-GD80 (MS-7640)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jrd

Hello all, I am new to Over Clockers forum but not to building computers in general.

My latest build (made at the beginning of the year) is as follows:
Rosewill REDBONE Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Rosewill Xtreme Series RX850-S-B 850W Power Supply
MSI 990FXA-GD80V2 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) (Boot drive)
WD RE4 1 TB Enterprise Hard Drive: 3.5 Inch, 7200 RPM, SATA II, 64 MB Cache - WD1003FBYX (Data Drive)
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL (Working on upgrading this now)
HIS H675F1GD Radeon HD 6750 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit
Rosewill RCR-IC001 40-in-1 USB 2.0 3.5" Internal Card Reader w/ USB Port

It is very fast compared to what I was using for years but I feel the bootup can be a little faster. The MSI 990FXA-GD80V2 seems to take 5-10 seconds or so (haven't timed it recently) before it starts to load windows, once windows starts to load it comes up in a few seconds.

So I am hoping you all can help me speed this up, thanks! If I have left anything out please let me know and I will try to fill in the gap promptly.

If you go through the bios a disable any thing you don't use that should speed it up some .
Like if you dont have any IDE drives disable it =)

Thanks, I will look for stuff like that.

Any tips from someone that has this board?