• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Do I have more room to overclock?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TyMiles2012

Hey everyone! I'm new to overclocking but I think I'm close to where I want to be, I've already learned what an unstable overclock was the hard way and I'm still learning, since I live by trial and error, but I don't want to do actual damage, even answering is very appreciated!

My highest stable OC so far is 3.8GHz on the Phenom II X4 965BE using the Cooler Master Hyper TX3 cooler with 1 push fan, since the rear case exhaust is very close to the cooler's opposite side, acting as a pull. I heard it was a very good processor of it's kind for gaming so I went for it since it was on sale for $84. When I first started after I got my new cooler, I decided to go from the stock 3.4GHz to 3.6GHz in the BIOs. That ran just fine and I've had no issues, but then I found AMD OverDrive and tried 4GHz, raising it slowly, and did a stability test, as soon as it started, the program crashed and the gadgets on my desktop started glitching up and OverDrive had missing text and weird window sizes and always force closed. I rebooted then raised it to 3.8GHz from 3.6GHz and I didn't think about doing a stability test for some strange reason, Bioshock Infinite crashed after about 30 minutes, showing the same glitchy symptoms from before after force closing that, even Steam had missing text. I once again rebooted, but raised to 3.8GHz again plus raised CPU voltage from 1.45 to 1.5 and did a stability test for an hour, it finished without any problems. Here is an image of the Core Temp gadget below with the temperatures. This screenshot was taken 3 minutes before the test ended.

tempdk.png