• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i SSD VD question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mokrunka

Hey guys. I have the LSI 9260-8i MegaRAID card in my system. I have 3 virtual disks:

RAID 0, 2x 2Tb Samsung drives
RAID 1, 2x 2Tb Samsung drives
RAID 0, 4x 256 GB Kingston HyperX SSDs (boot drive)

For the most part, everything is working great. However, every 1-2 weeks (varies in frequency), I have one of my SSDs drop out of the array, and my system locks up. It takes a number of reboots, and then the drive will magically reappear as connected, and everything is fine again until the next time.

I'm not a pro with these cards, and this is only the second time I've done this, and never with SSDs before.

Is there any special setting/configuration that I should be using for SSDs in a RAID 0 configuration? Has anyone had any experience with this before?

Thanks

There shouldn't be a special setting. When it locks up, immediately restart and get into the RAID BIOS to see what it says. The RAID will likely be degraded and the offending drive probably won't be listed. Figure out which one this is.

In the meantime, check to the logs to see what it says. You can do this from the RAID BIOS or from the installed software that you can download for the card. It should tell you exactly what happened. For example, if the drive is not responding or dropping completely. I would suspect the cable or the drive itself, especially if it is the same one every time.

That's what I'm leaning towards as well, a bad drive. I don't think it's the cable, since it is in a group of 4, and the others are working okay. I've tried switching both PSUs and SATA power cables within a PSU, and no change, so those should be good.