• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New build won't post

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rigit

I can't get my new setup to post. No SSD activity nothing. I using a gigabyte 970A-UD3 and a FX8320 cpu. Corsair H50 cooling and a 500w psu. I know the psu is a bit light but all it's being asked to power is the pump the fan the SSD and the cpu so I can't see that being the problem. This is my first time at a Piledriver cpu All I've done this far is Phenom II. So any help is appreciated. I already took the memory out and put it back. Tried different memory altogether nothing worked.

Reseat the CPU ? watch for bent pins in the process.

Recheck every connection to the motherboard and accessories.

I can't get my new setup to post. No SSD activity nothing. I using a gigabyte 970A-UD3 and a FX8320 cpu. Corsair H50 cooling and a 500w psu. I know the psu is a bit light but all it's being asked to power is the pump the fan the SSD and the cpu so I can't see that being the problem. This is my first time at a Piledriver cpu All I've done this far is Phenom II. So any help is appreciated. I already took the memory out and put it back. Tried different memory altogether nothing worked.

you make it sound like there's more than one power supply unit.....

Gotta have more system specs about the system than that. Are you using a second power supply? Is the second one jumpered?

I'm just curious how the board is getting power?

NOTE on PSU.....

A PSU rated at Max 500w does not mean that's the output. If it's 80%, that means it can load 80% of 500W continuously and 500w would be a peak draw at any given moment.

A PSU rated at Max 500w does not mean that's the output. If it's 80%, that means it can load 80% of 500W continuously and 500w would be a peak draw at any given moment.