• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking for a good monitor to match my superb gaming computer

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

1337xir

Registered
I have these two in mind (if you have the time, check out the reviews):

Samsung 27"

Asus 24"

Background Info: I am a music producer as well as a gamer and I enjoy video editing as a hobby. I am aware that TN monitors are better suited for gaming whereas S-IPS are more suited for video editing and other similar tasks or even to have a nicer display but doesn't have a quick response time as the TN monitors.

My question is how much does it matter? Will it make a noticeable difference if I play my games on an S-IPS monitor rather than a TN monitor?

I think this is enough information to start a discussion.

personally, I don't like 27" 1080p monitors, too large and not enough pixels
S-IPS panels offer excellent color reproduction, better than TN panels.
TN panels are popular, because they offer a lower price point and look great.
I don't notice any slower response time using my IPS panel.

My recommendation is get a good 24" TN panel and save some money.
That Asus looks like a great choice!

personally, I don't like 27" 1080p monitors, too large and not enough pixels
S-IPS panels offer excellent color reproduction, better than TN panels.
TN panels are popular, because they offer a lower price point and look great.
I don't notice any slower response time using my IPS panel.

My recommendation is get a good 24" TN panel and save some money.
That Asus looks like a great choice!

Thank you for an informative comment. I may have mistakenly said IPS instead of LPS maybe? I know that there is another technology that offers amazing quality although the response times are 5-10MS.