• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First build, need some help/suggestions.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KomradKickass

Backstory
----------------------------------------------------------
I have just graduated college, as such, I have been using my laptop for gaming for the past 4 years, now I feel that it is time to build a desktop for my gaming needs.

Needs/Wants
1) This is going to be a budget build (see "recent grad" status above)
2) I frequently do LAN style parties/move my computer around, so this needs to be a SFF build.

Where I am at now.
I have decided to go with a mini ITX build, as this seems to fit my need #2.
What I can scavenge from an old laptop/spare parts are as follows:
-60GB SSD (will use for OS)
-500GB and 320GB 2.5in HDD
-Windows 7 activation Key
Cost -- FREE!

Went to a nearby MicroCenter while visiting family and picked up
-Bitfenix Prodigy Case
-CM Hyper 212 EVO
-230mm Bitfenix spectre case fan
Cost -- appx $110 (212 and Prodigy were on sale)

Newegg had a great deal, so i picked up
-Corsair 500M PSU
Cost -- $34 (after rebate)

Now comes the hard part....

CPU
I am leaning towards picking up either:
AMD A8-6600K or AMD A10-6800k
As this is a budget build, the AMDs seem to be much better bang for your buck when compared to intels, however I am open to suggestions.

MB
Assuming that I go with one of the AMDs above, I have the following choices for MB
Choice 1) MSI FM2-A75IA-E53
Choice 2) ASRock FM2A85X-ITX
Choice 3) ASRock FM2A75M-ITX R2.0

This is my first main suggestion I need
I really like the fact that the MSI has WiFi+Bluetooth built in, as I use BT quite often, and the WiFi is nice to have.