Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Fx 8350 oc temps, are these good?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-13, 09:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
Drsolders
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2013

 
Fx 8350 oc temps, are these good?


So ive been learning how to overclock, are these temps safe? These temps are according to occt
8350 @ 4.6 ghz cooling with CM hyper 212 +
23 multiplier, and 200 bus speed
1.3125v
getting 31-35 idle temps
getting 55-60 under load during the OCCT test

Sorry i am a noob at this i just built my pc monday) here are my full specs

FX 8350
ASUS m5a97 le r2.0
8 gigs corsair xms 1600
xfx double d 7850
aspire x-discovery yellow ( old case, bought from a freind for lik 10 bucks)
700w rosewill psu ( i know its not great, but i got with a bundle on newegg)
samsung 840 non-pro
seagate baracuda 7200rpm 1tb

i will be going to push/pull on my hyper 212 once my - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103052 - get in.

thank you guys ahead of time.
Drsolders is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-13, 09:19 PM   #2
Zebodog
Member



Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Temperatures look good. Idle speeds aren't all that important; it's the temperature under load that is what you need to look at.

Make sure you're looking at the "package," or Core, temperature as well.

__________________
........MAIN RIG.....................................SECONDARY RIG
CPU:....FX 8350 @ 4.7 GHz...............................Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.1 GHz
MOBO:...Sabertooth 990FX R2.0...........................Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev3
COOLER:.CM Hyper 212 EVO w/dual push/pull fans..........Stock AMD FX Cooler (CoolerMaster)
SSD:....Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, Samsung 840 PRO 120 GB
HD:.....WD 1TB, Samsung 320GB...........................WD 200GB Black
GPU:....GTX 760 (Core: 1267Mhz, Mem: 6650Mhz),..........ASUS GTX 560, EVGA GTX 560 stock clocked in SLI
PSU:....Corsair HX850 Silver Certified..................Antec 550W True Power
Case:...CM HAF XB.......................................Antec Full Tower SOHO CS600
RAM:....2 X 4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24.........2 X 2GB ADATA 1600 9-9-9-24
OS:.....Windows 7 Home Premium..........................Windows XP SP3 Home Edition
Zebodog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-13, 11:37 PM   #3
givmedew
Member



Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago

 
AMD says the max safe temp for longterm is 62C. I am not clear on if that is the core temp or not. Unfortunately the temp sensors are not very accurate so AMD might be giving some wiggle room.

If you want to be super safe don't let it run over 60C for long period of time. Like I recommended it would be good to have the AC cranked up and a house fan blowing at the inside of the case just while stress testing. You don't want to be doing these tests if your room temp is over 80F that is for sure.

How did you come to set your voltage? If that voltage is from auto or auto overclocking etc it may be higher than it needs to be. At the same time it might not even be high enough to be stable. So how did you arrive at 1.3125V.

I moved away from AMD after Thuban so not the best guy to answer too many questions about that CPU. There are plenty of people on this site that can help you out though.

If I am remembering correctly the push pull only helps a tiny amount on the Hyper212... you should look into it.

Welcome to the site.

__________________
RIG#1 i5-4670K 4.4GHz @ 1.22v| ASRock Z87 OC Formula | Asus GTX 670 DirectCUII | EK VGA Block | OCZ Agility 3 240GB | Team Group Xtreme 1866 8GB | Ultra x4 1200w PSU | Black Ice GTX480 Extreme | Black Ice GTS 120 | MCP-35x w/XSPC Res Top | DT Water Blocks 5noz
RIG#2 i7-920 3.8GHz | ASUS RIIIE | NVIDIA 7800GT 256MB | Velociraptor 300GB | 3x2GB EVO Corsair | RS240 Rad | TFC X-Changer 360 | EK Full Block | Swiftech GT | XSPC 750 Pump/Res |
RIG#3 AMD 939 x2 3800+ | Generic Motherboard | 1GB Ram | 550 Watt Corsair PSU |
RETIRED Sabertooth 990FX w/ 960T x6 3.9GHz@1.392v 4.1GHz Functional Turbo
givmedew is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-13, 02:33 AM   #4
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
These are the types of information that most users supply in order to be able to help them very much.

CPU Tab in CPUz from CPUID com


Memory Tab in CPUz from CPUID com


SPD Tab in CPUz from CPUID com


And this is screen capture of HWMonitor (free version) from CPUID com
HWMonitor has been scrolled enough and large enough to show Min/Max of Voltages and includes the CPU CORE TEMPS / "package" temps fully visible.

This capture is made of HWMonitor after it has been open and running on the desktop logging Min/Max temps and voltages while Prime 95 was running Blend Mode test on all cores for at least 20 mins and then the capture of HWMonitor was made and it shows the Min/Max temps and voltages before P95 Blend was started and while running P95 Blend mode and gives much greater insight into how the system is performing without guessing.



In order to attach screenshots of INDIVIDUAL images as suggested, first crop and capture the images with Snipping Tool found in Windows Accessories or equivalent. Then click on Go Advanced, a button at the bottom of every new post window. Then click on the little paperclip tool at the top of the Advanced post window when it opens. Clicking on the paperclip tool brings up the file browser/upload tool and the rest is fairly obvious.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Johan45 (07-25-13)
Old 07-27-13, 03:39 PM   #5
deftone
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2012

 
Hmmm If your 8350 is stable @4.6 with only 1.3125v then you must have a pretty good chip. It takes a whooping 1.45 volts on mine to get stable @ 4.6 But yeah you definitely need a good cooler/water cooling kit if you want to keep the beast cool. I suggest Swiftech h220 / 320 if you just want to go with an all in one liquid cooling

__________________
Personal / Main Rig :
ASUS Maximus V Formula / Intel i7 3770K @ 4.7 / Swiftech Apex Ultima HD / 16GB G.Skill Ripjaw X 1600 / Dual Gigabyte GTX 690 Quad-SLI / 120GB Corsair Force 3 SSD / 1TB Samsung HDD / Corsair AX1200W / HAF-X / Win7 Ultimate 64x

Study Rig :
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula / AMD 1055T @ 3.8 Ghz / Hyper 212 Evo / 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866 / HD 6990 / 60GBOCZ Agility 3 SSD / 1TB Samsung HDD / Thermaltake 875W XT / Define R4 White Windowed Version / Win7 Ultimate 64x
deftone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-27-13, 11:38 PM   #6
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deftone View Post
Hmmm If your 8350 is stable @4.6 with only 1.3125v then you must have a pretty good chip. It takes a whooping 1.45 volts on mine to get stable @ 4.6
ASUS m5a97 le r2.0 >> with that board, I doubt the actual Vcore is that low. It is showing to be the LE version and those boards usually are very much entry level. No telling what LLC is actually adding to the Cpu Voltage at 4.6Ghz.

C_D tried to overclock his 4 core FX-4170 on the ASUS m5a97 R2.0 board which is slightly, oh so slightly better than the LE maybe and he wound up pretty much a bust with only a 4 Core FX. The VRM circuit was just not heavy duty enough to keep his 4 core stable at just 4.7Ghz.

So I expect something is odd or he has just purchased the mostest of awesome FX-8350.
Bobert...

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-28-13, 03:59 AM   #7
deftone
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGone View Post
So I expect something is odd or he has just purchased the mostest of awesome FX-8350.
Bobert...
Yes indeed. If its luck then I'am jealous as fruit
PS: I have swapped to a 3770k and I notice that it Ivy bridge runs hotter than 8350 @ the same clock speed.

__________________
Personal / Main Rig :
ASUS Maximus V Formula / Intel i7 3770K @ 4.7 / Swiftech Apex Ultima HD / 16GB G.Skill Ripjaw X 1600 / Dual Gigabyte GTX 690 Quad-SLI / 120GB Corsair Force 3 SSD / 1TB Samsung HDD / Corsair AX1200W / HAF-X / Win7 Ultimate 64x

Study Rig :
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula / AMD 1055T @ 3.8 Ghz / Hyper 212 Evo / 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866 / HD 6990 / 60GBOCZ Agility 3 SSD / 1TB Samsung HDD / Thermaltake 875W XT / Define R4 White Windowed Version / Win7 Ultimate 64x
deftone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-28-13, 07:44 AM   #8
Johan45
Member

 
Johan45's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ontario,Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGone View Post
ASUS m5a97 le r2.0 >> with that board, I doubt the actual Vcore is that low. It is showing to be the LE version and those boards usually are very much entry level. No telling what LLC is actually adding to the Cpu Voltage at 4.6Ghz.

C_D tried to overclock his 4 core FX-4170 on the ASUS m5a97 R2.0 board which is slightly, oh so slightly better than the LE maybe and he wound up pretty much a bust with only a 4 Core FX. The VRM circuit was just not heavy duty enough to keep his 4 core stable at just 4.7Ghz.

So I expect something is odd or he has just purchased the mostest of awesome FX-8350.
Bobert...
^^+2


Quote:
Originally Posted by deftone View Post
Yes indeed. If its luck then I'am jealous as fruit
PS: I have swapped to a 3770k and I notice that it Ivy bridge runs hotter than 8350 @ the same clock speed.
The Intels are a hotter running chip in general but they have a much higher tolerance than the AMD side of things. Intel can handle temps in the 90's where your 8350 would look like burnt toast at that temp.

__________________
CPU : AMD FX 8350, FX 9370,FX-6350 Mobo : ASUS CHV FORMULA Z ///// Intel i7 4770k / ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO
Cooler :Koolance 380A/Phobya Supernova 1260//////////////////////////// TT AIO Water 2.0
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133//////////////////////////////////////////////G.SkillTridentX 2400 CL9
Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280 //////////////////////////////ASUS DCUII GTX770
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb
OS : Win7 Pro
Case : Banchetto 101
PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum
Monitor : Asus 27"

HTPC : FX-6350 , CM V-8 , ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win8 Pro
Johan45 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?