Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Video: How to Install VGA Hotwire on ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II OC

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-13, 09:32 AM Thread Starter   #1
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Video: How to Install VGA Hotwire on ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II OC


Hi all. I made this video as part of the upcoming review (which is getting close, but needs input from ASUS before moving forward) and thought I'd post it up. Of course, with the exception of the tiny PGR100 resistor which may or may not be necessary on other cards, this is the same for any card with VGA Hotwire.

Anyway, here's the video.


Since the VGA Hotwire points aren't labeled on this GPU, here is how everything needs to be hooked up.

Step 1: Short PGR152 solder pads.
Step 2: Hook up hotwire leads as labeled.
Step 3: Remove PGR100 resistor.
Step 4: Profit!


Now, none of this does a whole heck of a lot of good without a BIOS that allows a power target of greater than 110%, which is what I'm waiting on input from ASUS for. For a review, I refuse to flash another manufacturer's BIOS, which forces you to lose software voltage control. If this "feature" is supported, even through back channels (and the BIOS dutifully hosted here, linked from the review & the forum), it's supported. If it's not, it's not much of a feature, now is it? Once ASUS responds and I'm able to actually use my new voltage control, I'll finish benching the card & publish the review.

Please let me know what you think. I'm a total and complete n00b at video shooting and video editing. I'm wide open to constructive criticism to help improve future videos.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
d1nky (01-14-14), Johan45 (07-27-13)
Old 07-26-13, 10:50 AM   #2
InhumanSkills
Member

 
InhumanSkills's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas

 
Ohh god I hope this makes this card super badass.
I will feel 100x better about buying two...
COME ON EK!!! IM WAITING ON THE BLOCKS!!!

__________________
Mobo: ASUS Maximus V Formula
RAM: 16GB DDR3 dual channel (1600mhz)
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7 3770k @ 4.5Ghz 1.28 V
GPU: 2 x ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II OC
Monitor: 2 x Overlord Tempest x270OC 1440p 60Hz <--- I lost the silicon lottery. =(
PSU: Corsair TX750
HDD: Primary: SSD, 2 x OCZ Vertex 3 128GB Raid 0, Storage:1TB WD Caviar Green (7,200 rpm 16mb cache)
Case: NZXT Switch 810 Gun-Metal Gray
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Headphones: BeyerDynamic DT770 Pro 80 Ohm, Logitech G910
Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 THX-Certified 5.1 Digital Surround
InhumanSkills is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-13, 02:03 PM   #3
(G{in}[AK)TION]
Member

 
(G{in}[AK)TION]'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rio Rico, AZ

 
what does this VGA hotwire do?

and nice soldering!

__________________
GAK-COREi.................................................. ..GAK-CORE2
Intel Core i5 3570K Processor.........................Intel Core 2 Duo
Asrock Extreme4 Z77 motherboard.................Intel DX48BT2 Motherboard
MSI AMD Radeon 7950 Graphics card..............AMD Radeon R9 280x
Corsair CX750 Power Supply...........................Corsair CX750 Power Supply
8GB G.skill Ares DDR3 (1600mhz) Ram............4GB Crucial DDR3 (1333mhz) Ram
NZXT Source 210 Case....................................PC Bench
1TB Seagate drive SataIII ..............................250GB Seagate Drive SataII
64GB Kingston SSD (Intel SRT)

HEY LOOK. OVERCLOCKERS FORUMS HAS GAME SERVERS :D
(G{in}[AK)TION] is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-13, 02:08 PM Thread Starter   #4
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
VGA Hotwire allows manual voltage control if you have a compatible ASUS Extreme motherboard. However, you can connect a variable resistor between the OV_ (OVG/OVM/OVL) points and ground to get control manually.

Quote:
For those who want to do OV without ASUS ROG MB.

a. Connect a variable resistor between OVG pin and Ground pin to over-voltage GPU voltage.
  • A 1.2Kohm resistor will over-voltage GPU to around 1.23V. Smaller resistor can get higher voltage.
  • But please make sure that you measure voltage in 3D mode while adjust variable resistor.
  • Because the ratio of resistor value/voltage value is different between 3D mode and 2D mode.
  • Doing adjustment in 3D mode can make sure you get correct voltage and won’t burn your card.
  • (You can measure voltage on “GPU” pin.)
b. Connect a variable resistor between OVM pin and Ground pin to over-voltage Memory voltage.
  • A 5.5Kohm resistor will over-voltage Memory to around 1.7V. Smaller resistor can get higher voltage.
  • A 1.5Kohm resistor will over-voltage Memory to around 2.0V. More than 2.0V is not recommend.
c. Connect a variable resistor between OVL pin and Ground pin to over-voltage PLL voltage.
  • A 11Kohm resistor will over-voltage PLL to around 1.1V. Smaller resistor can get higher voltage.
  • A 4Kohm resistor will over-voltage PLL to around 1.2V. More than 1.2V is not recommend.
People are working on a VBIOS to help with the power target limitation. Here's hoping they come up with something.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-27-13, 08:47 AM   #5
Starrbuck
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2012

 
I have this card, but this mod scares me. I'd break it if I tried. ;-)

Without any mods I've got it up to 1202 core and 7200 memory stable.
Starrbuck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 09:35 AM   #6
Nomanor
Member

 
Nomanor's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004

 
any news on the BIOS? or maybe you did something fun with the card since the original post?
Nomanor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 09:42 AM Thread Starter   #7
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
I actually have a BIOS in-hand (just arrived yesterday) but can't try it b/c my board died. I won't upload and host it until I try it myself, but I do have one.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 10:14 AM   #8
Nomanor
Member

 
Nomanor's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004

 
Cool. Looking forward to see how it goes.

Please keep us posted

BTW, how does ASUS extreme mobos help OC the cards? Through custom software?
I have ASUS Rampage IV Extreme and wonder how best to utilize it with these cards.

Thanks.

Last edited by Nomanor; 08-12-13 at 10:20 AM.
Nomanor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 10:23 AM Thread Starter   #9
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Using the Rampage IV Extreme you would hook the VGA Hotwire wires up to the points on your motherboard. Then you can control the GPU's voltage either via BIOS or via AISuite. At least I think there are controls for it within AISuite; if not, you'll have to set voltage via BIOS before booting.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 10:58 AM   #10
Bobnova
Innocent Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
The moment you take a soldering iron to the card you can no longer complain about the power target, as it is very easy to bypass by soldering.
If you post/link some decently high res pics of both sides I'll outline what to do.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)


How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Heatware.
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 11:00 AM Thread Starter   #11
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
High res will have to come a bit later, I only have our 1000-px constrained versions uploaded right now. However, I believe the BIOS I have allows a power target of 200%, so it's not an issue regardless. I'll still upload them though; never hurts to have more than one way to skin a cat.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 11:03 AM   #12
Bobnova
Innocent Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
1000px might do it, link?

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)


How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Heatware.
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 11:13 AM Thread Starter   #13
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Here you are sir:

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 12:37 PM Thread Starter   #14
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
High res:

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-13, 12:49 PM   #15
Bobnova
Innocent Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Looks like they did away with the A219s, so the only method left is to short the sense resistors. That's the rough equivilent of a BIOS with a power target of 100000000000000% or so. Full turbo, all the time, damn the torpedos.
Alternatively if you want ~200% you can solder a second identical sense resistor on top of each current one, that halves the amount of current sensed. I can't tell if they're R112 or R002 (0.112 ohms or 0.002 ohms), it almost looks like the PCIe slot power is R112 and the PCIe plug power is R002.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)


How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Heatware.
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-13, 01:42 PM   #16
trailertrash13
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mn

 
the hotwire only works with intel boards right? no amd support?

__________________
mobo > crosshair v formula-z
cpu > fx-8350
cooling > 120.3 2x alpha ut 60 120.3
fans > gt ap15x12 xspc 2000x3 80mm x4 controller kaze master pro
mem > corsair dom gt 2x4 cmt8gx3m2b2133c9
psu > coolmaster silent pro gold 800w
video card> evga gtx 680 ek fc block x2
hdd > Boot drive ocz vertex 4 128gb+ seagate 2 ter + 1 ter
sound card > on-board
usb > mouse & keyboard
o/s > windows 7 ult 64
case > M8
trailertrash13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-13, 02:03 PM Thread Starter   #17
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
There are no AMD ASUS boards with VGA hotwire, that is correct. However, if you go the variable resistor route, it doesn't matter which board you use.
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-13, 02:53 PM   #18
trailertrash13
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mn

 
is there a guide for going that route here somewhere?

__________________
mobo > crosshair v formula-z
cpu > fx-8350
cooling > 120.3 2x alpha ut 60 120.3
fans > gt ap15x12 xspc 2000x3 80mm x4 controller kaze master pro
mem > corsair dom gt 2x4 cmt8gx3m2b2133c9
psu > coolmaster silent pro gold 800w
video card> evga gtx 680 ek fc block x2
hdd > Boot drive ocz vertex 4 128gb+ seagate 2 ter + 1 ter
sound card > on-board
usb > mouse & keyboard
o/s > windows 7 ult 64
case > M8
trailertrash13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-13, 03:51 PM Thread Starter   #19
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Post four above.
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-13, 02:12 PM   #20
sdhydro
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2013

 
Ive done the mod but have issues with voltage control still. I using gpu pad to read voltage under load and set 10k variable resistor to max before soldering. under 3d load I increased voltage on resistor but only got to 1.114 volts or so max under 3d load. If I remove variable reisistor it boots up fine on stock voltage and can use asus gpu tweak to get to 1.212 which is a little less actual under load. Any ideas would be great. If I OHm OVG to Ground I get about 32Mohm which is the same for for OVM and OVL to ground
sdhydro is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?