• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0 compatibility

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ian.b

Registered
Hey people of over clockers! I'm new to this so can you bare with me?

I'm building a new computer soon and I have a question about the mother board.

I will be probably getting the SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0 http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_990FXGEN3_R20/#overview

What I wanted to know, what ram is compatible, I was interested in getting 2x8gb, 2000mhz probably corsair.

I have looked around and couldn't find much, but I'm interested in ram of that speed. I can change brand if necessary as I don't really know the best brands.

If anyone can comment or link that would be very helpful!

Thanks. Ian

Everything I've seen says to avoid that GEN3 board like the plague. Usually, any RAM is "compatible". If you plan to overclock, then you start worrying about brands.

Last edited:
I guess the SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0 went on sale at NewEgg about 7 or 8 weeks ago. Somewhere after being for sale for a few weeks, the board began to show out of stock at NewEgg. Like they were all RE-called or the like. I just looked and NewEgg still lists it as "out of stock". Something must have been wrong with the board and they were pulled from stock. I know the few that had one here in the this forum section had to send back and get a NON-GEN 3 board.
RGone...

Go with the Gen 2. The only thing you'll miss between Gen 2 and Gen 3 is PCI-e 3.0.

I had to return 2 Gen 3 boards before finally giving up and going with Gen 2.

The manual lists 2000 MHz in its QVL for memory , but you may need to overclock to get the board to run the memory at that speed.

ian.b, welcome to the forum.

Let's start out at square one: