• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PowerShell 2.0 or 3.0?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator
So I'm a VMware administrator at work. I design the entire front-end (desktop side) of it. I am cleared to take a 5-day class on PowerShell, and was wondering which is more beneficial: 2.0 or 3.0

Any advice?

The newest one, of course :) There's no reason to run an old PowerShell.

EDIT: Misread 2008 vs 2005. Only 2.0 works on XP, but really, how much longer are companies going to hold on to XP?

The newest one, of course :) There's no reason to run an old PowerShell.

EDIT: Misread 2008 vs 2005. Only 2.0 works on XP, but really, how much longer are companies going to hold on to XP?

Well, they still offer 2.0, and I wondered why it would still be offered, probably b/c of what you said. So... most of our VMs here are still XP, but we are pushing for Windows 7 linked-clones, or Windows 7 persistent at the very least. I could use 2.0 to assist with our current XP environment, but then would miss out on 3.0. It's definitely a personal decision, but I wanted to see what others say.

*EDIT*
I DIDN'T EVEN NOTICE... There is also Version 4.0.

Last edited:
I DIDN'T EVEN NOTICE... There is also Version 4.0.

Some of the things I read mention the 4.0 preview at least is not supported on Windows 8 (but didn't say whether that would apply to the final release), and would only work on 7 SP1+ and 8.1+. Odd choice, there.

Some of the things I read mention the 4.0 preview at least is not supported on Windows 8 (but didn't say whether that would apply to the final release), and would only work on 7 SP1+ and 8.1+. Odd choice, there.

I just registered for 3.0. I hope I made the right choice!! :)